We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strip mall delight”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
UNCLE Chung's Szechuan
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Pinole
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Taos County, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Strip mall delight”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

After a days trip we stopped in for a late dinner. We were courteously seated offered and received prompt beverage service. After much scrutiny of a full menu we selected the fixed price dinner special which consisted of appetizer, wonton soup two entrees and fried rice.

Cashew chicken and shrimp with snow peas were shared around the table. The appetizer had 3 items per plate, fried crab filled wonton, a shrimp which was breaded lightly and a foil wrapped morsel which tasted great but was a packaging nightmare. It was sealed tightly and also had parchment paper. What appeared to me paper thin pastry wAS paper. This was forgiven because all other items were delicacies. The portions were overly generous and we took home >50% so tomorrow will be a second happy meal! The fixed price was 14.50 plus beverages. The tablecloths and napkins are starched. We sat in the window and watched a watercolor sunset. All in all the end to a perfect day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Delftglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We took my son and his family here. They are vegetarian. The choices for them were many. The food and the service was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank russmozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food. Good value.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Best Chinese food in Pinole! This place is an institution in the surrounding area. Don't miss a good meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always good, fast, and friendly.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Uncle Chungs Szechuan is one of my family's favorite restaurants to visit anywhere in the country. We have been eating here for many years and every time the food is delicious. The staff is prompt and courteous, and the service is excellent for a casual restaurant.
The princess chicken is the best dish on the menu. It is a fried and sauced in the same manner as sweet and sour pork, but the sauce is not as sweet and there is another element to it that I just quite can't put my finger on. Trust me you'll love it. I also highly recommend the salt and pepper fish. They are not stingy with the pepper topping like other places.
For a flavor packed, inexpensive, and impeccably paced casual dining experience you would be hard pressed to beat this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service and prawn with walnuts”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I think this is one of my all time go to restaurants when I want to comfort food. Lovely people own the restaurant and always there working hard to please the masses.
Especially love Yolanda and miss her very much.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laufenfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed UNCLE Chung's Szechuan also viewed

 

Been to UNCLE Chung's Szechuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing