We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean Views Were Spectacular at Sunset”

Marisol at the Cliffs
Reserve with OpenTable
Marisol at the Cliffs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spy Glass
Transit: The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.
Description: "Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean Views Were Spectacular at Sunset”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughter selected this restaurant because she has enjoyed grinch there on several occasion. We were celebrating with a spacial dinner during Graduation Weekend.
We treated ourselves to the Oysters on the half shell with cucumber mignonette and fresh horseradish. Superb. Our daughter enjoyed her braised short rib dinner. The menu included many interesting entrees and sides, but I wish that there had been an additional steak option or two. As it was, my husband and I stuck to salads. That work out well because the prices are expensive. The service was excellent as was the atmosphere – a good choice for a special meal or celebration. Check the menu before you go to make sure you have some good options

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACM_912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    79
    38
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the Cliffs - YUMMY!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great deal on their breakfast buffet. Juice, coffee included. Made to order omelets and lots of pastries and fruit. Some of the very best thick bacon ever! Highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Critter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Critter123,

Thank you for your glowing review! We love hearing from our guests and I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast! Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dine with a view”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the lovely dining area with an ocean view. Adjoining is the bar and lounge with table & umbrellas on the patio to enjoy the great weather & the view along the coast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getaways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We truly are so fortunate to have the beautiful views of the coastline right off of our restaurant patio. Thank you for stopping in, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“At least the music was good.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I don't know what's going on these days, but It seems I'm writing more unfavorable reviews than favorable, but here goes:

I've been to the SLO area just once before; we looked forward to sun, surf, wine and food. Ya can't always get what you want....

We got to Marisol (reservations long in advance) to find it both big-wedding prep and Prom night, meaning it was very, very busy; we knew of neither. Because of the former, our window table ocean view was almost completely blocked by a big, white tent. Because of the latter, we were served by some poor kid who really, really did not have a clue. (Our first introduction to her was the sight of the green gum she enthusiastically chewed. We talked immediately among ourselves of walking out, but didn't.)

There's so much to write, but here: I ordered the "Chef's Pairing." The wines appeared long before the dish, and without explanation. None of us was offered an app nor salad. The proteins were all over cooked (we're always clear about temperature).

I want to write, unequivocally, that we know this dismal experience was created by management and not by an unprepared, untrained server. Leaving, we asked to speak with a manager but -- surprise! -- one didn't show.

Beland, the musician, was the only element we enjoyed. Sorry guys.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wtaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Wtaguy,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and use your comments to adjust our service and our food as necessary. I'm sorry your experience at Marisol was not what you were looking for. I understand how disappointing it is to have expectations that are not met. We will follow up with our wait staff, and make sure we have a better presence on the restaurant floor so we can catch mistakes and make sure to rectify any issues that do arise in a professional and timely manner. Again I'm so sorry, if you do decide to return to the area please contact me personally so I can make arrangements for you at the restaurant and ensure you get the dining experience you were so looking forward to!

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Rooms Executive
elise@cliffsresort.comn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It could have been a wonderful experience but came up short.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The View: This resort is located right on the water and is known for its great ocean views. The view this night, however, was not great as they had a large tent set up between the restaurant and the ocean. The ocean view we had seen in the ads was blocked by a huge circus size tent which had been erected for a special event the next day (probably a wedding). We heard a number of people in the restaurant complaining about the lack of an ocean view. One group of eight, in particular, had reserved a particular table for a special occasion and were quite unhappy with the canvas view and complained to no avail.
The Meal: Our meal began with appetizers, cauliflower soup with chips, and a rocket pear salad (arugula, pears, candied pecans, blue cheese crumbles). The soup was an interesting blend of flavors and the salad was fresh. For my entrée, I picked the eastern scallops with blood orange salsa The scallops were not particularly fresh and were bland and chewy. My sweetheart had the salmon and potato layered entrée which was tasty and fresh.
The Bottom Line: It was a Friday night with a good musician strumming a variety of pop and jazz tunes as an offset to the canvas view. Service was excellent. I would certainly want to check with the restaurant about possible upcoming events before committing to a dinner reservation. It was less than delightful. I should have taken a photo but didn't.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmikeSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Marisol. We love guest feedback and use your comments to address both the menu and our service. I'm sorry you were unable to enjoy the view from the dining room, we have tents up during the spring and summer occasionally for weddings or large events. We know about them in advance so if you plan to come back please feel free to give us a call and we can advise what we have planned for the week! Thank you again for your comments on the food, music and service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marisol at the Cliffs also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Marisol at the Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing