We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to try something new.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moose Deli

The Moose Deli
Ranked #37 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wanted to try something new.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I had been reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor about this place and thought I would try it for myself. Overall it was nice and the overall experience was not a "tell everone they have to try this place" event. The sandwich (pastrami) was good, but not the best I have ever had. I would definitely eat here again but would probably try other establishments for comparison.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Salads!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Right in downtown Pismo Beach, saw mostly tourists. The wife and I each had our own salad. Fresh ingredients and plenty of food. Nothing innovative, just plain old GOOD salad. The salad dressing for the chickent salad was ho-hum. It's a small place with outside tables located right next to a nusery/hardware store. Fountains are sold along with plants and gardening stuff. The running water made for a nice accompaniment to the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zorro805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unusually good sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The flavor combinations of their specialty sandwiches are unusually good and quite different from other sandwich shops. For the best experience take a chance and have one of their inventive creations rather than a build-your-own sandwich. The #14 sandwich and the BCLT are our favorites, and the Gobbler is tasty too. Their specialty sandwiches are what sets the Moose Deli apart from other sandwich shops and gets them their high, well deserved ratings. When compared to other sandwich shops, this one rates a 5. Seek out this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escalon ca
1 review
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I read all the reviews and could not wait to find this place and eat there. I was so disappointed the clam chowder tasted like oil and water mixed with clams and my husbands sandwich was dry and had no flavor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakhurst, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great sandwich spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Because of the reviews in TA, we went to lunch here and had fabulous sandwiches. A real keeper!! It's quite small, but the service is fine-small outdoor seating area and that's it. Definitely would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thefoxy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moose Deli also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to The Moose Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing