We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

It was a easy booking, the front desk clark was extremely helpful, friendly and helpful. The room has a fantastic view. It's clean and comfortably good size room. The restaurant near the hotel was descent. Enjoy the stay, recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    198
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
199
343
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Like so many have said before, the location is beautiful. This very well maintained hotel has a lot of charm. It is not a luxury resort but it is updated, clean and meets all your needs, including a nice continental breakfast. I have been staying here once or twice a year for the last 10 years or so and have never been disappointed. The staff has always been welcoming and friendly. The beach access down the steep and many stairs maybe a bit of a work out but is worth it. Also, just a couple of blocks walk to cafes and shops.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tallwithroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great hotel , lovely view, only 10 min walk into town & much better than the central hotels. Lovely view from rooms and the pool. Recommend a pizza delivery from Giuseppe's in Pismo & enjoy on the balcony!

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aaaabbbbsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We try to stay here once a year. Just returned from a four night stay. As usual, everything was great. This is an older well preserved hotel in an amazing location. The location cannot be beat!!!
Not inexpensive, but worth the money. We just say 3 or 4 nights instead of six or seven :-)

Room Tip: We like the ground floor, just walk out to pool & hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1947-FORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed for one night in June 2012 before our trip up the Big Sur. Booked well in advance and had a top floor room as requested. All rooms have an Ocean View, and despite a little June Gloom weather the view was spectacular. The sun came out in the early evening and we made use of the hot tub and pool (excellent view from these too) followed by a stroll along the beach.

The room was spacious and clean, and the sound of the ocean wonderful! Made use of the Guest laundry while having the perfectly adequate breakfast which is included in the price.

Ate in Steamers restaurant, ocean view and sunset, and good food too.

Would certainly stay here again if travelling in the area

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, lower rooms have patio with garden are in front, best for those with chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed one night whilst driving from San Francisco to Las Vegas.

The drive through the Big Sus is amazing and then you arrive at Kon Tiki. The room is fantastic. Everything you need, laundry across the car park and also decent breakfast. The best thing has to be a sunset walk along the beach. One of the memories that will always stay with me!!

We had a top floor room, great views and also good to fall asleep listening to the waves.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogorfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our family stayed here for one night on route to Los Angeles. It was a great, large room at ground level so we could easily walk back and forth to the pool and enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean. We really wished we had planned for a longer stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground level room made it very convenient going back and forth to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing