We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our most memorable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our most memorable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

We were on a round-trip coming from Santa Barbara, going to San Francisco, so just stayed here for one night. We took out the seating in our bedroom (canape) and it had both a relax for your feet. So we opened a bottle of wine, set the chair in front of the ocean view in our room and had the most magnificent sunset ever...

The beach is clean, the hosts are friendly. There is a laundry, ice-machine nearby.

If you're looking for a stay at the ocean for let's say 2-week holiday, then maybe you could pick something more luxureous, but I really loved it. Can't say anything bad of the place!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
195
333
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

This hotel/motel is the worst on the Central Coast. I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids and when we walked to the Front Desk, the girl acted like we were bothering her. She never smiled and obviously hated her job. The rooms look like something from the Bates Motel. The entire staff is rude and unwelcoming! The only good thing is that this run down hole in the wall is right next to the beach. We will never stay at the dump again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The entire property
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank hotel2682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2008

We have stayed at the Kon-Tiki for years- my kids grew up loving this place. They enjoyed the proximity of the beach, the wonderful pool with the ocean view, walking out of our room to the manicured lawn, and the proximity of the hotel to rest of Pismo.

We had been a family of four, but recently become a family of
5- after years of loyalty, spending literally tens of thousands of dollars between my immediate family, and the families and friends who came with us, we were informed we were no longer welcome. Our crime? Our amazing trespass? My 3 year old daughter, our "5th" person, had caused us to break their "no more than four" rule. Our reservations were canceled, and the manager called to inform us we would be kicked out if we attempted to stay again.

This is how they treat their best costumers...how will they treat you?

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Hostile Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank cmarkerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

This is a terrific spot right on the ocean with comfortable accomodations and a spectacular ocean view. Rooms are clean and spacious - you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevadanancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

I can't believe I stumbled onto this place! I was recently traveling on the road for biz and stayed in a different place every night for 2 weeks. I was tired of driving and just pulled into the Kon Tiki Inn. The price was $ 90 and the room was awesome! Quite large and the upper floor had a great view. Comfy bed, clean room, and I slept with the sliding patio door open to hear the waves crashing me to sleep. I had dinner at Steamers next door and that was also very enjoyable. The best chowder I've had in years! After all the flea bag places I stayed at this was a relaxing restful haven.

I was suprised to see all the renovation under way when I woke in the morning. There were many rooms undergoing a major renovation. When I checked out I commented to the owners what a great job they did on the reno in my room and that's when they told me it hadn't been renovated yet! The room was extremely clean and upkept. Everything here was perfect. The spa was hot and the the stairs down to the beach below will give you your morning exercise. Loved it!

  • Liked — Large comfy room - even ahd a sofa
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gdcom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5pack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2008

This hotel may have good reviews for a "typical" family, but if you are more than a family of 4, this is not the place for you!! We have three young children and were told that we would be required to purchase two rooms to accommodate our family. They will not allow more than four people in a room with two beds, even if the baby sleeps in a playpen or in the same bed with mom and dad! If we were to have stayed, we would have been spending close to $2000.00 for the 5 days we planned! I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past (before our third child) and this hotel is not nice enough to constitute that amount of money! It is a Motel 6 with an ocean view! The decor is old, and the carpets and drapes are stained. Also, the hotel staff is incredibly rude, always has been! When we were being told about the room situation, the Manager was the most condescending man I have ever come across. He spoke to us as if we were children. Due to our experience, I have been able to convince five family members to avoid this hotel (which is an annual trip for all of us). This hotel staff has convinced themselves that the customer is insignificant, and that we should consider ourselves lucky to be staying there.
Hopefully this review helps. There are plenty of nicer hotels in Pismo Beach that I know will accommodate families of 5 without trying to swindle more money from its customers!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank 5pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

Simply put, I think you will struggle to find a hotel that gives you more perfect views than the Kon Tiki. We used this hotel for a single night on our road trip from LA to San Francisco and it was exactly what we needed - cheap and clean.

The hotel itself is........ fine. It is clean, has a swimming pool and friendly staff. Nothing brilliant about the rooms. Except the views!! The hotel is right on the beach and all the balconies face the sea. And the sea is where the sun goes down. You have never seen anything like it - magnificent.

The only downside with our trip to Pismo Beach was with the town itself. Maybe it was the time of year we were visiting, but when we went out for a bite to eat (albeit at 9pm!) the place was dead and all the restaurants were shut. We ended up eating in a slightly run down diner on the main street - probably our worst meal in the US. Even the bars were shut!

In September, I'd stay at this hotel for a night or two, simply to experience the views (and to walk along the beach in the morning). More than that and the evenings could be a bit boring after sunset.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Pismo Beach itself
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing