We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem on Pismo Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem on Pismo Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have been saying at the Kon Tiki forever. We just were there for a few days this week. I was reminded of how much I love this place. Every room has a gorgeous ocean view and balcony. You can watch the sunset from your balcony. The rooms have recliners, table and chairs as well as the king sized bed. Stairs to the beach are just past the pool and spa area. The grounds are impeccably landscaped. This place is hard to beat. Check it out on your next visit to the Central Coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
197
333
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The room was nice, decent, nothing fancy, just basic. Considering the price and ocean view, I'd go back again. You can't reserve online. Make sure to call early in the morning so you don't get a busy signal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

10 nights stay - WONDERFUL place, with WONDERFUL staff and service, this is the place you don't have to ask for something, they will offer it before. Very clean and quiet (you don't hear your neighbor). Location: you have to be there to see, no word can describe. TIP: if you want sunshine while sitting on your balcony, choose room between 1 and 15 (last digits). There is 2 washers-dryers. Now, all rooms are equipped with a microwave, very useful to heat leftover or take-out at Giusseppe. Good breakfast included, food well stocked, 2 ladies efficient and friendly, always there to help if you need something. Pool can be sometimes busy. Easy walk to the village, pier, shops and restaurants. The restaurant next door, Steamers, is very good.
I will not repeat all the informations already written by members, just read them and all positive comments are true. First floor rooms have a nice yard to sit outside. I asked and had a second floor because I don't like first floor room but at this hotel, these rooms are an excellent choice.
I wrote a trip report on the forum if you are interested.

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony, choose rooms with last digits 1 to 15. First floor rooms have a nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LyseMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you love totally out of the loop places, this is your place. It benefits from being in the absolute best place on the beach- so the waves are amplified- actually louder in your room than by the ocean, somehow- and you can hang in your room and listen to the surf. Divine! It is a bit worn at the edges, and we bring our own pillows, comforter, towels, and toiletries. But for the money, you cannot find a better beach room to just chill out in and read all those books and magazines you have stacked up.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Fireplace room. There are 4 of them, featuring a silly gas fireplace- and it is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellots112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City Ut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in room 302, a good sized room with a very comfortable king bed, a dual recliner for watching the flat screen TV, and a small table and chairs for in room eating. The room was a good size, clean and well maintained and daily maid service was a nice plus. As mentioned by others, all rooms face the ocean with a small balcony with chairs. We never used the AC as the sound of the surf at night was delightful. My only complaint was the quality and number of towels – one thin wash cloth, hand and bath towel per guest. However, the location more than made up for any minor complaints. We found our stay relaxing and enjoyable and would return again.
The stairs down to the beach and back up can give you a workout but are not really that bad. The beach is great for walking once you get through the soft sand! The hotel’s location to the wharf area is great. We never drove a car down there once.
We ate at the Splash Café but would not recommend it for anything other than the chowder. It was very crowded but the fish and chips reminded us of frozen food. We also ate at Brad’s next store. The chowder was similar to Splash Café though it had less substance to it. The shrimp and chips were good. Service however was very slow. We debated on walking out due to the inattention of the wait staff. We highly recommend Old West Cinnamon Rolls and the Moose Deli, as well as Sebastian’s near the Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelkidPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our second visit to this wonderful family oriented property, just love it! Very nice rooms: TRUE queen-sized beds, lots of drawers for unpacking, decent sized fridge, nice bathroom. Cleaning staff does a great job of keeping the rooms clean and getting out the sand every day. Nice big soft towels too. Included breakfast is great, Faith (one of the women who manages it) is so nice and does a great job making everyone feel at home and keeping the food well stocked. Only request for the breakfast bar would be MEAT and cinnamon waffle batter - yum! Access to the full health club across the parking lot is a really nice fringe bennie - my son and I enjoyed a couple of games of racquetball, he shot some hoops, and we hit the weight machines. The location is fantastic - on a bluff maybe 100 ft. above the beach with great views of the ocean from every room and the pool and hot tubs. We got a first floor walk-out again and love the easy access - just walk up from the beach and dump your towels, wetsuits, and body boards right outside your room.
The thing that really strikes me about this place is how many return visitors they have - probably at least 1/2 of the guests go there year after year after year. We met many families that are on the third generation of kids staying at this hotel. We love it there and are making it a family tradition for ourselves as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you want easier access to the beach; ask for a higher room if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joecooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

It was a easy booking, the front desk clark was extremely helpful, friendly and helpful. The room has a fantastic view. It's clean and comfortably good size room. The restaurant near the hotel was descent. Enjoy the stay, recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing