We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great choice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I chose the Kon Tiki Inn based on the reviews, and was completely satisfied with our stay. This place is not a luxury resort, but offers a similar experience with it's location over the ocean and a great pool and hot tub. We spent a considerable amount of time on our little deck, as the views are stunning no matter the time of day; a great place to have coffee in the morning and most especially a glass of wine at sunset. The property is well maintained, rooms are very clean, and the beds are very comfortable. We had one minor inconvenience with the air conditioner, and after calling the desk someone was there to resolve the issue within one minute. I would highly recommend the Kon Tiki to anyone looking for an affordable place to unwind and relax in Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank al_d555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
197
336
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just came back from staying at the Kon Tiki and had such an awesome experience that I have to figure out how to go back again real soon. Every room has an ocean view and ours had a fireplace, too. We stood on the patio when we arrived and just took in the beauty of the ocean. The pool is small but they have two spas that have a beautiful view of the beach. I walked down to downtown on the beach and the entire shore was covered with sand dollars. The staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel felt more like a home away from home. The continental breakfast was huge, make your own waffles, yogurt, bagels, boiled eggs, oatmeal, etc. If you visit here bring your own beach towel, lotion and conditioner.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor that has fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patricepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We came here for our anniversary. Great location. Clean room. Comfy bed. Updated bathroom. Even had a couch and seating area in the room. Full breakfast. We didn't use the TV because we were so mesmerized by the ocean view! Steps down to the beach. Great price! We weren't used to water softener so that was interesting. Couldn't hear any noises from other guests. Just relaxing and beautiful!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ladykeepsmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voxboston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is where we have out of town guests stay. It's on it's own lot, with lots of parking, and separate gym (Pismo Beach Athletic Club - you get a free day pass). Every room is ocean view, there's a nice pool and hot-tubs in front of the building, beyond which is a 70 foot cliff and the Pacific Ocean. Hotel has its own staircase directly to the beach. You're out of the downtown core (so no noise or traffic hassles) but you can walk to downtown in 5 minutes.

Good breakfast included - ask where it is (in a separate building).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Floor 2+ on the North side are quietest, because not by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank voxboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed three nights to the sound of the waves. We are always greeted by a friendly staff and a clean room. We always return to the KonTiki for family pleasure and never are disappointed. The location is excellent, the fittness center is outstanding .Steamers next door offers the best Happy Hour around. It is a mainstay with our family for over 30 years. Thank you Kon Tiki!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views-
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hercules
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed one night at the Kon Tiki Inn in Pismo Beach on our way to Santa Barbara from the Bay Area. Great place at the right price. All rooms have ocean views with private balconies (ask for the third floor for evern more scenic view). Just a few feet from the beach and near the pier. Right next door is Steamers Restaurant - so very convenient. Accommodating staff. FREE parking. Wish they had a microwave in the room but they do have a fridge. Breakfast is included. There is also a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room in the center section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We came here for a girl's weekend and this is a really nice place. The view really can't be beat!

Good pool, two hot tubs. Free breakfast in the morning - waffles, bagels, cereal, etc.

The staff were very nice.

We were on the second floor so we could leave our doors open and hear the waves all night. They were also great about putting us right next to each other. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable and the pillows were even decent!

The bad (if you can call it that!) : There is no info in the rooms or given to you on check in. If I wasn't with friends who had been there before I would not have known about the free breakfast. We tried to go down to the hot tub at 8:50 and were told it was closing. He let us go in (thanks!!) for a few but there was no sign or notice for opening and closing times.

There are no pool towels - bring your own! The bathroom towels could use some updating - they were pretty small and worn.

Overall I really enjoyed the hotel - some increased communication on their part would have made it even better.

Room Tip: If you are with other people the ground floor is better as the rooms are right on the grass and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing