We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for anything better!”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for anything better!”
Reviewed 8 September 2008

This was year number 2, for us staying there for the 4th of July. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and the view of course unbeatable!! Only thing is the downsized one of the beds. So 4 is not so comfortable to a room. We had 2 adults and 2 kids. Other then that, it was just what we wanted in our vacation

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — not available
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LLBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    200
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
202
345
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

If you like non-commercialism, relaxation, great food and wine, long open beaches, amazing views from your balcony, peace and quiet then you will find this perfect in every way - just go!

  • Liked — perfect view over the ocean
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescara, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stay at Kon Tiki Inn for one day during our trip in costal California. Great location (on the beach and near the centre of Pismo), clean room with all the amenities, nice pool. A good value hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thelittlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We have stayed at the Kon Tiki several times in the past but we were disappointed in the attitude of the office staff this year. Our reservation was made several months in advance & of course we expected tp get tjhe normal king size bed with a sofa in the room that we have always had in the past. Instead what they gave us was a room with 1 king size bed & 1 full size bed (this was for 2 adults). When we went back to the office to inquire about it we were told in a rather sarcastic manner that we did have a king size bed as well as a full size bed to go along with it but we did not have the sofa which we wanted as were staying several nights & it is a nice way to relax after a busy day. We were told that nothing else was available (after making the reservation several months in advance - hard to believe) but that we could keep checking back to see if something became available. Who wants to keep packing & unpacking? Can't understand why they didn't give this room to a reservation with more people. We also mentioned the disappointment in the room to the office staff when we checked out & again we were told that all their rooms have king size beds (agiain in a sarcastic manner) but they did say that they would put it on our record that we preferred to have a sofa in the room. After all the years we have stayed with them we were disappointed but we will give them another chance. We also would like to see them add more to their continental breakfast, perhaps cereals & more fruit. The apples were very small. All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Kon Tiki & the housekeeping staff was great. Our room was always immaculate when we returned to it. The view is fantastic & it's nice to hear the sound of the ocean at night. We did not let the disappointment in our room ruin our stay & we would definitely recommend the Kon Tiki to anyone planning on staying in Pismo Beach as we have always done in the past.

  • Liked — view from room
  • Disliked — type of room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BarneyConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Stayed here en route from L.A. to San Francisco for one night. The accommodation was clean, spacious and the room had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The pool and hot tub were excellent. Pismo has excellent choices of restuarant. The only bugbear was the rather miserly complimentary breakfast.

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyguyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakersfield,California.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Perfect,quiet ,with a very nice full gym included,it`s more for adults than people with young children.If you can find anything this nice ,location,clean & reasonably priced as this is post it please as we do not believe it exists.Their restaurant`s excellent also, "Steamers "it is a McClintocks operated restaurant,the building is owned by the same owner as Kon Tiki . A great place to stay on a very nice bluff overlooking a very nice beach.It`s a regular stop for us,Cambria became too aloof & overpriced for what they offer.

  • Liked — quiet,clean,location.
  • Disliked — nothing worth mention.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank centralcoastlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The property was very nice, well maintained with a beautiful view. The location was good, right on the ocean, plentiful parking and a short walk to the pier and stores on the strip near the pier and to Marie Callender for dinner in the other direction. The free wireless was a nice touch.

I stayed two nights as I scheduled a rest stop on our trip up the coast. In retrospect I probably would have only stayed one night here as the town itself is a little bit tired and not a lot to do. It was too cool to enjoy the beach other than frequent strolls but a good central point to explore San Luis Obispo and nearby beaches.

I have one complaint, before 8 am they started to work on the plumbing of the room next door with a loud hammer drill. This continued on for several minutes but only to change to a quieter drill that probably could only be heard by me in the room next door. A half hour later they were back to the hammer drill. It was obvious the property is maintained meticulously but you've got to respect the guests a little more than this.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on another trip up the coast.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The noise from the worker early in the morning.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank These_are_my_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,977 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,990 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing