We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Expansive View AND Heated Pool!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Expansive View AND Heated Pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed three nights here and visited nearby attractions. However, it was difficult to tear ourselves away from the magnificent ocean view and the large heated pool. One evening a hang glider buzzed our balcony as we sipped wine in anticipation of the sunset.
Although the furnishings are somewhat dated, the staff is super and the rooms are very clean

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
197
333
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is an older property but well maintaiined and not too expensive. the rooms were very clean and our room had one of the best views in pismo. the staff was great. WHEN we go back to pismo i wouldn't stay anywhere else. if you head to the beach and walk north a little ways there are some beach level caves that were lots of fun to explore. Oh, and dont forget McKlintocks, did i spell that right, it is just down the road froom the hotel and have some of the best food on the central coast. mmmmmmmm

Room Tip: If possible ask for the top floor in the center. The View is unforgetable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I almost don't want to review this place favorably, because it is so great! The entire hotel faces the ocean, every room has a view. The hotel sits on a cliff, 50 or so steps down to the beach. Sand Dollars on the beach, tons of shells and rocks.

The hotel is QUIET! You cannot hear anything if the sliding door is closed. No neighbors, no cars, nothing.

The only thing I would change is the temperature of the pool. It is almost warm. But I am here in the beginning of April, when it is cool outside. Two hot tubs, one is normal hot tub temperature and the other is slightly cooler.

Very clean rooms with uber-comfy beds, decent towels, ask for extra for the pool. A mini fridge in the room works VERY well. Check the settings so your things don't freeze.

Continental breakfast offers coffee, teas and juices. Oatmeal, make your own waffles, pastries and breads, fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs.

Overall, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JmrsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Four of us stayed at the Kon Tiki on Thursday, 27 Mar 2014. The Kon Tiki is very conveniently located with easy access from the Coast Highway, and extra wide parking spaces.

The room patios have splendid views with direct beach access, which provides very attractive, relaxing and pleasant lodging accommodations.

The staff is cordial and helpful, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The Kon Tiki is a bit pricey, but not not unfavorably so considering the beachside setting, and the overall good condition the Motel

I would definitely stay at the Kon Tiki again when in the Pismo Beach area..

Room Tip: All rooms face east, so they all have beach views, but would recommend a first floor room for conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

You can not go wrong staying here. Hotel is very clean. Has lots of parking. Every room faces the ocean and has a private deck. Very quiet rooms, so staying on the second floor is no problem. Plenty of space in the room and a great treat when the room has one king bed and one double bed. Wish more places did that. Pool and hot tubs ( yes they have 2) are clean and allow you to view the ocean while soaking/swimming. Worth every penny (which is not a lot of them) to stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifero55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I knew from the photos this place would be nice, but it was even better. The balcony felt private even with everyone near by. You can look out at the ocean and not even realize there is someone next door. The rooms are the quietest I've ever slept in, we never heard our neighbors even late in the evening when the t.v. was off, all you could hear was the waves (we slept with our patio door open of course). The rooms are quite large and the bathroom is a nice size. There is a separate sink across from the closet and having 2 sinks came in handy. The staff were friendly and check out wasn't until noon which meant we could relax and enjoy our last morning walking on the beach and not rush to pack. The breakfast was good, no meat/protein choices except for yogurt and hard boiled eggs but there are so many great places to eat within a 5-10 min walk. The restaurant (Steamers) right next door had great food (try the steamed clams!) and a great happy hour. The walk to Pismo Pier is quick and beautiful along the beach. The hotel has 2 hot tubs and a heated pool so you can enjoy the day and evenings. I really can't say enough good stuff about this place, I would love to go back monthly if I could! It's beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love_to_travel72011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a find! Perfect location, gorgeous views, excellent staff and reasonable charge for an oceanfront room in this great beach town! Owned by the same individual since built in 1974. Staff is caring and professional, hotel is clean and updated; just a lot of bang for your buck.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lake Arrowhead Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing