We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Say Enough Great Things about the Kon Tiki Inn!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't Say Enough Great Things about the Kon Tiki Inn!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the 2nd time staying at Kon Tiki Inn and we will definitely be back! As many times as my wallet will allow a trip from Ontario, Canada to California.
Here's all the reasons why I love this hotel:
-You can't beat the views (every room has a balcony with a view of the ocean)
-Staff are extremely helpful and friendly
-Rooms are clean and very comfortable (the bed was like sleeping on a cloud and bonus that they have a mini fridge and extra sink, coffee maker etc, new samsung HDTV with lots of HD channels and tv options, lazy boy reclining couch, lots of storage space for clothes, etc).
-Great continental breakfast (only wish they could have gluten free bread/baked good options
-Coin laundry on site and access to the athletic club
-Short walk to "downtown" Pismo beach and the pier.
-Excellent value for what you get.
I simply can't say enough great things about this place. We loved every minute of our stay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Every room has a beautiful view. Lower/Main floor rooms have patio access to lawn and pool etc (Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KyT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
197
336
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Loved our stay! Making the Kon Tiki an annual event. Love the view! ALL staff was friendly and very helpful. I didn't want to leave. Can't wait to go back. Truly a hidden treasure on the pacific coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have been staying at the Kon Tiki Inn for over 30 years, I will not stay anywhere else in Pismo beach. The views are unsurpassed , the town is quint, and the Kon Tiki is indeed wonderful. My only issue with writing such a positive review is that too many people will stay there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! From the reservations, check in and housekeeping, we could were treated so well. The beach is just down the stairs, and the pier is a short walk. The continental breakfast has the regular items: cereal-hot and cold,waffles- regular and small, hard boiled eggs, apples, bananas, yogurt, pastries, coffee,milk and variety of juices. The parking spaces are wider than a lot of places. So much easier to retrieve items from the car. The ocean sounds are so peaceful. We have enjoyed our stay here very much .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We werent sure were we would stay overnight when we arrived at pismo beach, plus didnt have much money so we lookd at 4 hotels and they were pricey so we drove up to the kon tiki inn hoping for the best, It sure was we had a Great room, first floor, we had an Amazing view and the room was clean we were very satisfied we ended up spending 2 nights instead of 1 we didnt want to leave Lol! We will be back probably in July and i cant wait :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanahrr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is our 4th visit to Pismo and we have found our home for future visits. The staff was outstanding. Every interaction pleasant, and we were always greeted with a smile even when they were obviously busy. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, good quality HD TV with a more than adequate channel selection as well as several different HBO channels for movies. The complimentary Wifi is adequate for checking your e-mails. All the rooms have ocean views and we were able to get a room on the top floor and had absolutely zero noise issues during our stay. (Only heard the sound of the ocean waves:))The complimentary continental breakfast is adequate, and the free gym use at the Athletic club on the same property is an awesome feature. Steamers restaurant is on the property as well, so you have everything you need right there without having to drive. They have beach access via stairs behind the pool area. The price is very reasonable, and in this case was the best deal we found in relation to other comparable hotels on the beach. We stayed Thursday through Sunday 4/27 - 4/28 this trip and will be back in November for our annual anniversary trip!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views. I would suggest top floor South end if you want to possibly see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldManRiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Kon Tiki Inn 4/22/14 for 2 nights. The front desk and staff was very friendly. We had a room on the 3rd floor. Rm 307. All rooms have a wonderful ocean view with beautiful sunsets (providing the marine layer stays offshore). The room was very clean, beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was very clean with plenty of towels. Coffee maker, mini refrigerator. The 100+ step stairs from the beach back up to the hotel is challenging but makes the beach access very convenient. 5 stars for the free parking. There is extra spacing in between car. No door dings in this parking lot.
We will definitely come back to the Kon Tiki Inn.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dt51654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing