We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 3 days last week at the Kon Tiki Inn with our son, daughter in law and two grandchildren. Everyone loved it. Great value. Great location. Fantastic ocean views from all rooms. Good sized spotless rooms. Good sized pool and two hot tubs. The Inn owns a complete gym next door that I am sure people in the community have memberships to. Access is free when staying at the Gym. There is also an indoor swimming pool at the gym. The Inn was sold out but it did not seem crowded. Short walk to town. Most of the other guests have been coming to the Inn for years. The employees could not have been nicer. Looking forward to returning to the Kon Tiki Inn.

Room Tip: You would think that the ocean views would be better from the higher floors but not really. Better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was floored by the view and price of the room 1st floor walk out on ocean side. the staff was very helpful and friendly. The morning walks on the beach with my wife was the best . rooms were very clean, breakfast area was very nice where they served a complimentary breakfast. I plan to stay there again every chance I get. Highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We intended to stay for 1 night in Pismo during our pacific highway road trip but once we found the Kon Tiki and viewed our room we decided to stay for 2! For us it was the view of the ocean from our room and what really made it memorable were the whales and dolphins that we saw on both days from our balcony! The hotel has a great pool and our room was really spacious and clean. Free continental breakfast was good. There is a lovely restaurant next door called Steamers that had live music and did great seafood. We walked along the beach into the town which had a nice laid back feel to it.
Really relaxing stay at the Kon Tiki amidst our location packed tour !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheGeorges2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the 2nd time staying at Kon Tiki Inn and we will definitely be back! As many times as my wallet will allow a trip from Ontario, Canada to California.
Here's all the reasons why I love this hotel:
-You can't beat the views (every room has a balcony with a view of the ocean)
-Staff are extremely helpful and friendly
-Rooms are clean and very comfortable (the bed was like sleeping on a cloud and bonus that they have a mini fridge and extra sink, coffee maker etc, new samsung HDTV with lots of HD channels and tv options, lazy boy reclining couch, lots of storage space for clothes, etc).
-Great continental breakfast (only wish they could have gluten free bread/baked good options
-Coin laundry on site and access to the athletic club
-Short walk to "downtown" Pismo beach and the pier.
-Excellent value for what you get.
I simply can't say enough great things about this place. We loved every minute of our stay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Every room has a beautiful view. Lower/Main floor rooms have patio access to lawn and pool etc (Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KyT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Loved our stay! Making the Kon Tiki an annual event. Love the view! ALL staff was friendly and very helpful. I didn't want to leave. Can't wait to go back. Truly a hidden treasure on the pacific coast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have been staying at the Kon Tiki Inn for over 30 years, I will not stay anywhere else in Pismo beach. The views are unsurpassed , the town is quint, and the Kon Tiki is indeed wonderful. My only issue with writing such a positive review is that too many people will stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! From the reservations, check in and housekeeping, we could were treated so well. The beach is just down the stairs, and the pier is a short walk. The continental breakfast has the regular items: cereal-hot and cold,waffles- regular and small, hard boiled eggs, apples, bananas, yogurt, pastries, coffee,milk and variety of juices. The parking spaces are wider than a lot of places. So much easier to retrieve items from the car. The ocean sounds are so peaceful. We have enjoyed our stay here very much .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing