We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular View”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We just returned from a three day stay at the Kon Tiki Inn. The hotel was clean and comfortable and featured a spacious room with a small sitting area,a large swimming pool, beautifully landscaped grounds, two jacuzzis,a private balcony with a spectacular ocean view, an in-room safe, hair dryer, a full service gym,a tennis court and a steep flight of stairs with direct access to the beach. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and offered a complimentary continental breakfast. The hotel attracts many families with young children so the pool area can get a bit noisy. They are environmentally friendly so the bathrooms have water saver shower heads with inadequate water pressure for my tastes. The towels were cheap and the lounge chairs by the pool were in desperate need of cushions. The location was fabulous just a five minute walk to the center of town. I suggest visiting Steamers Restaurant which is on the hotel property. The cocktails were delicious. We also visited Shell Beach and Avila Beach (a ten minute dirve up the coast road ) which were the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    197
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
198
341
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
greater manchester uk
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

stayed here for 2 nights in august and i can only reiterate what the previous reviewer wrote about this place. Nice hotel, large rooms,beautiful sea view, nice pool and easy access to town. would not hesitate to recommend the hotel but i would not visit pismo again. the town was a dump. full of noisy bikers reving up, tacky restaurants/cafes and fish and chip shops. The beach is beautiful and is big enough for a game of cricket without annoying anyone else, but if the sea mist is in like in frequently is in july and august it is too cold for the beach and there is absolutely nothing else to do here. A good tip is if the place is covered in mist then get in your car and travel 5 or so miles up the coast to pebble beach or avila beach where the weather can be totally different (by 20 degrees)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stopped over at the Kon Tiki for two nights on our way from Carmel to LA. The staff were friendly, the room was fine, the view, particularly at sunset, was terrific. The only problem was the limited choice of places to eat in Pismo.

We did eventually find a really nice Italian restaurant in town on our first night, so we decided to return on the folowing evening.However, we were unable to book and had to wait an hour for a table to become free.

Pismo itself was a great disappointment, with very little other than a long sandy beach to commend it.

We won't be returning to Pismo, but if we did, we would definitely stay at the Kon Tiki.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCratchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Nice hotel, a bit basic but nice big room, toilet, shower. The room was simpel and clean!
The location was the most perfect one! We had our own terrace, we looked over the ocean, beautiful. The hotel has also a swimmingpool and 2 jaccuzzi's with an overlooking view over the ocean. Really romantic when you see the sunset in the evening! You can use the pc in the lobby for free and also use the gym in a building at the front of the hotel.
The city pismo beach is small with a few restaurants and shops. The breakfast is simpel and american but there's a subway in the neighbourhood!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaDimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Where to begin? My husband and I have been staying at Kon Tiki every year since the first year of our marriage. Our children (13 & 9) love this hotel and the tradition of staying in Pismo.

The location and value is by far the Best! I cannot imagine going a year without staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Califcoastlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is my 7th or 8th time visiting Kon Tiki Inn and I'm always sorry to go back home. Rooms all face the ocean, and have small refrigerators, and are VERY clean and nice. They have a very nice Continental breakfast every morning, when you have children this is a big deal. Here is another plus, every guest gets a free pass to the Health club & fittness center. Plenty of parking (wide parking stalls). The staff is very helpful, and pleasant. The pool & Spa (s), are immaculate. We visited Hearst Castle, the next day Justin Vinyards for wine tasting & dinner!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

There are not a lot of reasonably priced hotels along this stretch of coastline that offer value and a stunning view. The Kon Tiki Inn is a hidden gem. While the decor in the rooms is a little dated, the rooms are spacious and clean and have lovely private balconies with fantastic sea views. It was so peaceful and relaxing we didn't want to leave. There is also a small pool overlooking the beach and a fitness club. Pismo Beach town isn't up to much but this is a great base for exploring the surrounding area - San Luis Obispo is worth a visit for the Thursday evening market.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing