We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another amazing stay at the Kon Tiki - We Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay at the Kon Tiki - We Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2007

Well what can I say that hasnt been said already?!

This is THE BEST hotel I have ever stayed at.


The rooms are very good with extremely comfortable beds. Clean, crisp sheets that you know beyond doubt are fresh. Very clean room including the carpet which all too often leaves you with black feet (YUK) in other establishments.

The pool is fantastic, the views are out of this world and the free breakfast is excellent (even better if you take it out of the dark breakfast room and eat it back at your room). There are fruit, bagels, pastries, muffins etc and all the usual beverages. It is all very fresh and really tasty!

The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. This is our 2nd stay here and we just love it so much! If I had a motel/hotel I would try to model it on this one. If you stay here you will not be sorry and I wonder what sort of person couldnt like it here!

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone although I wonder if it will get so popular I wont be able to get in when I next want a room! It really is that good.

My only small downside is that there is no iron. I really cant say anything else negative at all!

They do charge for internet but its $10 for your entire stay or $2 for 20 mins on their own computer in the lobby. Its not exactly unreasonable although I always go to a library for email anyway.

We stayed in room 210 which is above the lobby on the 2nd floor. It has very clearly recently had a nice new bath and I noticed there were workman updating 2 of the ground floor rooms while we were there. The owners must take a pride in the hotel and its very easy to see.

Online booking would be a plus in the future.

Thankyou Kon Tiki!!

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Disliked — no iron
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank noodle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    195
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
197
336
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

Wow! This is it! It doesn’t get better than this! I’ve been wanting to stay here for 2 years and we finally made it over on a 2 day trip.
Check in was easy. You can’t miss the Inn it’s right off the freeway.

There are 3 levels and a few rooms on a fourth level. All rooms have Great views only difference between them is ground floor rooms have a patio and top floor have balcony. Patios and balconies have two chairs and a table.

The view is absolutely magnificent! Sweeping views of the ocean and Pismo beach, wide and stretching as far as the eye can see. The price is unbeatable. We paid $120 per night but this is an off season price.

We selected a ground floor which was very nice because you could go in and out of your room without having to go down stairs. The pool is heated. They have two Jacuzzi’s. Beautiful views from the pool, same view you get from your room.

Only downside for me is that there is no free Internet service if you want Internet you have to pay $10 for it.

There is a complimentary breakfast served that was good, basic: coffee, bagel, muffins, bananas and juice. It is served in side room at resturant next door. Eat it there with no view or take back to your room and eat on your balcony with an incredible view!

We had a great lunch at splash café. We had their delicious famous clam chowder and fish and chips and Calamari and chips, which we loved and preferred.

We decided against having dinner at the restaurant next-door steamers
because of the unfavorable reviews it got here on TA. We also took a quick look at the menu and saw that the prices were very high. I figure what you’re paying for is the view and you already have that view from your room so we figured we should try something in town. This was a great decision. We found wonderful restaurant called the Cracked Crab. It is a very fun place, great food! We loved it so much we had dinner there twice.

There are many places in Pismo beach and almost all of them have views. We drove by some other hotels that also looked great but we selected the Kon Tiki because of the reviews here. Excellent stay and I highly recommend it.

We are returning!!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — No Grills and had to pay for internet
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank scorchestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2007

We followed the recommendations of Trip Advisor. The Kon Tiki Inn has all rooms with superb ocean views, and the sound of waves, nothing else. No pretentions, high value, pleasant service. Simply wonderful, a place to get back to.

  • Liked — the sound of waves
  • Disliked — internet access was available but not very strong
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2007

Just came back from 3 nights at the Kon Tiki. Very nice location right on a cliff overlooking the beach. Dont expect any amenities like valet or room service. This is a 'MOTEL' with an awesome location. Parking is free and the widest spaces around. There is a restaurant right next door which looks great but a little pricey. The rooms are basic but clean. Lots of channels on the TV which you shouldnt be watching anyways. We were only 2 people and asked for a King. I think this place is really suited more for families as there was a King and a Full in the room. We requested a room with a sitting area but they were all taken.

The views are amazing and you can see all up and down Pismo beach. All the rooms have a great view. Great sunsets from your balcony. Access to the beach is via a long flight of stairs. The morning and sunset walks are worth the climb back up! The free continental is your basic Costco grinds of muffins, pastries, fruit and juice. Enough to get you energized before the days activities..and its free! There is a great cinammon bun shop in town which is worth the walk. . Great start off point for the Central Coast. Eat at McClintocks in just off the 101 in Pismo for great steaks and vibe. Early bird special is really a great value. Brunch up in Templeton at McPhee's Grill is a cant miss! Wine tasting in Paso Robles is a real treat. Be sure to hit Tobin James for great staff and free tastes!

  • Liked — Location and Views
  • Disliked — Did not have type of room requested at time of rerservation
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank outof714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

After looking at the rave reviews on TripAdvisor, my husband and I decided this hotel would be a good choice for a weekend getaway. The room was comfortable...fridge, 2 sinks, lots of drawer space, and the balcony with the wonderful view. The view was very much worth the stay at this hotel! The bed was very comfortable and was on par with higher-end hotel beds. We were on the 2nd floor--no problems with noise above, below or on either side of us. I wouldn't call the room decor luxurious in any way, but if you bring some of your own "luxuries" you can also make up for that... Bring your own white robes, nicer shampoo/conditioner/soap, your laptop computer to play music, and you have a few little luxuries you might expect at a higher end hotel or bed and breakfast.

Negatives: The shampoo they provide dries out your hair (luckily we had some of our own Aveda shampoo). They provide no iron (we also brought our own iron just in case).

All in all, a great hotel for a weekend getaway!

  • Liked — comfortable bed / beautiful view
  • Disliked — lack of luxuries
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank StandingRoomOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresno
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2007

I'm giving it 4 stars because of the view and location. It's right on the beach and all the rooms have full ocean views. There's a private stairway on the property that leads down to the beach, and you can walk to the pier in about 15 minutes. The room was average at best. Maybe we got one that hasn't been updated in a very long time, but it was okay, not anything more than that. (The bathroom linoleum was green and gold, if that gives you an idea how old it is!) The beds were comfortable and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sharima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2007

All rooms are ocean view, Balaconies with chairs and table. Rooms are roomy. Nice walk down to the beach. Great place for the money!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing