We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What, no air conditioning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What, no air conditioning!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

First thing I like to do when I arrive at a stuffy hotel is crank the a/c. I located the thermostat and immediately realized there was only a switch for heat. I called the front desk and they confirmed that the rooms don't have air conditioning. WHAT! It was boiling hot in the back bedroom. We had to ask for a fan (which helped a little). I would have opened the window, but the back of the hotel is incredibly close to the freeway. My friend who was staying in the next room said "We could high five the truck drivers from our rooms". On a good note, the rooms were very large and the furnishings were nice. You could pay me to go back, but only then would I go again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doodlenuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
I appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us at the Pismo Lighthouse Suites. I'm sorry your room temperature was not acceptable. While we don't offer air conditioning, temperatures seldom get warm enough on the coast to require it. We do have ceiling fans in all the suites to facilitate air flow. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    438
    89
    40
    17
See reviews for
906
324
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our room facilities and view out to the ocean were excellent and well worth the extra money. The complex here is family oriented but for us as a couple it was a good choice for a couple of nights to break up our California Coastal tour. We travelled through Morro Bay and glad we chose Pismo Beach instead of the former for our stop. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed a long walk along the beach up to the pier. Self service Breakfast is ample but the small area can cause some frustration with people getting in each other's way. The only reason we haven't given this a 5 is due to noise. I would however say that we were unlucky. The rooms are of wooden construction and 3 storeys high. Above us we had a family with 2 children who must have been training for the marathon! Constant noise of them running from room to room spoilt our overall stay here. We did complain to the hotel but that they had no other rooms available.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get an ocean front room - top floor would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andybevrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
It was our pleasure having you stay with us! It was great to hear that you chose staying in Pismo Beach over Morro Bay, though both towns have their own charm. I'm so sorry to hear that you did experience a noise issue during your stay. It sounds like the staff did the best they could given the situation. We'd love to have you return back to the Pismo Lighthouse Suites the next time you come back to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We go at least once a month to the coast and we stay at various locations, this was the first time visiting here this place is amazing you need more than one day to enjoy all of the amenities they offer. The rooms are very large and Very clean, great staff.. and great views of the ocean...would stay here again in a heartbeat...until next time Pismo Lighthouse!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing time here at the Pismo Lighthouse Suites. We would love to welcome you regularly for your monthly visits to the coast. We will have the fresh baked cookies waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the Pismo Lighthouse Suites in Mid August. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the kids enjoyed the facilities and the pool. Our only observation would be that with a kitchenette in the room it would have been nice to have some cutlery and crockery. The hotel says that they provide disposable cups etc. (but not plates) to save water. We know this is a problem in California but land fill is just as an important an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMJMARWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
I appreciate your comments regarding your August stay with us. Our water conservation efforts are very aggressive due to the drought situation in California. I understand your concern with the landfills but we also are using biodegradable products. It sounds like your kids enjoyed many of the amenities that we have to offer. We hope you come back to visit us again the next time you travel back to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Large, well presented and clean apartments 5 minutes walk down the public steps to the beach, two minutes (1 mike by car) to beautiful sunsets and pelican resting areas. Well organised parking lot, small gym, heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi. View of the coast and in our case, dolphins from the the balcony. 4 minutes (by car) to the best clam chowder in the world and some amazing cinnamon buns. Nothing negative to say about the place and would thoroughly recommend. Good recommendation from Lonely Planet.

Room Tip: Standard suites are as food as the superior ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Victoria, thank you so much for your great review. It was fun to read about all the wildlife you were able to see just a short distance from the hotel. We have been lucky to have dolphins and whales off shore almost daily this summer. Thank you so much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, my 5 year old son and myself stayed here last year for 1 night as a stop from our Los Angeles-San Francisco road trip. I wish we stayed longer! The hotel, the room, the breakfast and the location were incredible! Absolutely amazing!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marrinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thanks for the great review! If we can assist you in any way with your next visit please don't hesitate to let us know. Let's hope you can have a longer visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

and only a short walk down to the beach. Huge suites, nice stuff for the kids, everything as it should be. A pity we only stayed there for one night on our way to LA. If you are lucky, you can see the dolphins swimming by from your room.

Room Tip: Try to get the suites with a view of the sea. Our friends had the ones in the back which were only h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
We appreciate your review Boris! Next time you come back to California, we would love to welcome you for more than one night. We hope the rest of your vacation was safe and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Property: Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Address: 2411 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pismo Lighthouse Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this all-suite, oceanfront family hotel in Pismo Beach featuring spacious two-room/two-bath suites with private balconies or patios. Enjoy the family play deck with ping-pong, badminton, multiple putting greens and life-size chess and checkers board. Guests also enjoy a daily deluxe continental breakfast, guest laundry facilities, fitness center, spa services, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pismo Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pismo Lighthouse Hotel Pismo Beach
Pismo Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing