We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Pismo!”
Review of Pismo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pismo Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
san francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Pismo!”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We found The Pismo Beach Hotel to be a charming blend of old and new.
An historic hotel from 1937, lovingly restored, and newly remodeled -
if you're looking for quaint as well as comfort, then you will be very happy here.

The location 1 block from the Pier can't be beat. Park your car in the
Hotel's free parking lot and explore downtown Pismo Beach on foot.

At the Front Desk, Debbie and Robin were very friendly and exceedingly
helpful, recommending great places to eat and visit, particularly Avila Beach.

We stayed 2 nights in late April (off season) and enjoyed the quiet,
particularly on Thursday night, when the town seemed almost empty.

Our room was a Queen (Room 207) with nicely designed wood furnishings,
a walk-in closet, and a thoroughly modern bathroom. Everything was
immaculately clean, and the bed was unbelievably comfortable.

Since the nights were cool, we really enjoyed the old-fashioned gas fireplace
right in the room that was hooked up to a convenient thermostat. And we
only had to run the heat for about 15 minutes, as the thermopane windows
kept the heat in. If we wanted to cool down, opening the windows let in the
pleasant sea breeze. There is an attractive ceiling fan for the summer time.

If you want something with a lot of personality that has the flavor of the past
but with all the modern conveniences of the present, then The Pismo Beach
Hotel is the place for you.

And guess what? Two days after we returned home, we received a "Thank You"
letter from Debbie for staying there. How nice is that?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    53
    16
    16
    11
See reviews for
31
94
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We have been staying at this hotel for 4 years. The location alone is reason enough to stay here. Great service and very friendly staff. Will stay here everytime I visit Pismo.
Denise and Laura

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arualesined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This hotels best quality is its location. Its centrally located. Walking distance from everything.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian4355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Couldn't ask for a better location. The room was clean, the service was great and you're walking distance from everything.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We had a great time staying at the Pismo Beach Holel. Service was superb. Our room was certainly adequate, remembering the age of this hotel beauty. The location is perfect. Close to beach and shopping as well as a busy night club for dancing just down the street.
Most of all the room was spotless and everything smelled fresh and clean. Not your old smelly hotel. A beautiful continental breakfast was served in the morning to start off your perfect day.
Oh, and a very friendly, helpful staff! Yea!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DReddOrangeCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresno
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We arrived at the hotel for a few days of relaxation on a fridays. Mark checked us in very friendly and informative, the rooms were clean but a bit cramped, the next morning Debbie and Robin were at the desk and serving a nice continental breakfast the were very sweet and friendly. We found Pismo a small relaxing place. Again the staff was very nice and helped us alot, however on checkout the Manager (Tammy) was very short and almost rude, not only to us be to the staff helping us checkout. Overall a nice stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
I think you will find your next stay with us to be even more enjoyable now that Debbie has taken over the responsibilities of Hotel Manager. Thank you for all of the nice compliments. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed here at the beginning of October for 1 night.

The staff were very helpful, expecially Robin on reception, she gave us detailed directions to the local Walmart!

The elevator is very old but is very easy to use. The room was nice and roomy, although it would fair to say that the decor was slightly outdated. It looked like the carpet had recently been replaced.

Parking & breakfast is included in the price.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. I would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolians40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Pismo Beach
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#15 of 29 in Pismo Beach
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Beach Hotel

Property: Pismo Beach Hotel
Address: 230 Pomeroy Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2642
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pismo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing