We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pismo beach dive and surf shop”

Pismo Beach Dive Shop
Ranked #4 of 8 Tours in Pismo Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pismo Beach Dive Shop Dives the Central Coast. We offer Kayak Tours and Kayak Diving. Shell Beach is one of our best spots along the coast for diving and kayaking.We hope to enjoy our central coast with you.
Oceano, California
2 reviews
“pismo beach dive and surf shop”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

here is a awesome surf and dive shop right here in pismo beach dive shop has all the gear you need for a great dive , also a great selection of new and used surfboards ,wetsuits new and used and surfboard rentals plus a nice selection of cool surf clothes sun glasses ,also and very cheap surfboard repairs , and owner bill and host on awesome kayak tours every thing you need is right here !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun with Bill”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Kayaking with Bill last two hours and is well worth it to get a real flavour of life amongst the kelp beds .he balanced fun with safety and provided a CD of photos that he took. He is a real character and it's well worth doing if staying in Pismo .His yard of stuff is well worth a look too.!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mroverall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun family outting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our kids would never have jumped at the chance to kayak through caves, but wanted to do one activity for our short beach getaway. Highly recommend the pm kayak cave tour. We have relatively low kayak experience. The ocean was calm, no wind and the sun is low. Saw seals very close (apparently 3 seals in particular are very friendly and sometimes jump aboard which didn't happen but would have been cool. Bill, the owner was sweet and showed us the ropes. Def wouldn't have done the caves without someone instructing who knew what they were doing. Kids were ages 11, 14 and 17 and enjoyed it.

The ONLY thing I can say that's a bit of a bummer is carrying the kayaks down a bunch of stairs (and back up but my husband helped Bill) Bill took pics along the way, hoping the CD arrives soon!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dfromthebayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Best Kayaking experience thus far!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went kayaking and abalone diving with Bill in Fort Bragg. Had the absolute best time! Bill is one of the nicest guys and was very accommodating since this was our first time in the area.We've had great trips along the coastline thanks to Bill including, Fort Bragg, Shell Beach, Refugio, and Pismo Beach. Can't recommend Bill's Pismo Beach Dive Shop. I can't wait to go back to Pismo and see Bill.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Dive, Surf and Kayak place on the Central Coast of California!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

WOW!
this place has everything!
If you took one part dive shop, one part surf shop, one part kayak rental outfit, one part museum, one part sculpture/glass/collectibles shop, and one part Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory, you'd have Pismo Beach Dive and Surf Shop.

Full service PADI dive shop, ethical service and prices.

They have more boards than any other shop in Pismo, more dive gear (and knowledge) than the other dive stores I've visited, and one of the most eclectic collections of gifts, sculptures, glass, and the best kayak rental and tour service on the Central Coast! It took me a long time to find a place like this, a one stop shop. Our family surfs, dives and kayaks, so this has become our go to place. The prices are low for the top notch merchandise and service you get. Their gift shop portion of this charming biz---the outdoor collection of sculptures, surf boards, collectible glass, shells, rock, etc---is a place we take our out of town guests to.

And of course, no business is truly memorable if the staff are humdrum, so about the owner: Mr. Wonka, er, I mean Mr. Bookout himself. Bill Bookout is the proprietor/manager, he is an engaging, free spirited guy who is always so a blast to talk to about local surf, fish, dive and kayak spots. Bill is great!

The kayak tours are beautiful, he takes you to the best spots and explores the dinosaur caves and beaches on kayaks. And you will DEFINITELY see mermaids (wink wink you'll see what I mean).

All in all, I'm glad we've got this gem in our community, as long as it's doors are open we locals and tourists alike have a great one stop shop for all things beautiful and active on the central coast.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KathySchmidt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pismo Beach Dive Shop also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Pismo Beach Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing