We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy types of chips, unique and delicious.”
Review of Chipwrecked

Chipwrecked
Ranked #29 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Crazy types of chips, unique and delicious.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Passing through Pismo it was about lunch and my wife and I stumbled across this hidden gem. Soon as we walked in we were greeted by the owners, the wife I believe. Very friendly, she gave us her recommendations on her favorites. I can't remember what my wife ordered but I had an egg salad sandwich with cinnamon something chips. WOW, it was delish! The whole time there it was not busy and while she prepared the food we talked about Hawaii and the mainland and how they had visited our state. The ambiance was very laid back and the food was just magnificent. Easily one of the best sandwiches I have ever eaten and those chips well I cannot describe them, just go try it for yourself. A small business with so much potential, and in all honesty if it was in a more year round popular city it would be that much more successful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaoski808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Chips are amazing!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Two adults with healthy appetites, we didn't feel challenged at all in ordering three (different) small orders of chips, with no sandwiches or salads, or anything else. We were strongly advised that that was too much food for us. Staff patiently walked us through their amazing array of freshly made to order fries. Half an hour later, we had to take two thirds of the chips back to our hotel. Staff were very friendly, but the chips were - and still are - outstanding. We had La Belle with truffle and Parmesan, U.S.S. Constitution with sea salt, and La Dona Paz with dark chocolate, caramel, and vanilla salt. All were excellent! Definitely worth a trip, and very close to Pismo
Beach Pier. And did I mention that the potato chips were wonderful?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food...A must try!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

They have very good sandwiches and the chips are amazing! Very fresh....I love the Conquistador. Mmmm...You wont be disappointed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeAcHlOvEr2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort dodge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't leave Pismo without a stop!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We almost missed this spot but are glad we found it. Fresh made chips and homemade dips are amazing. Good sandwiches too. Take it to go and head out on the pier for the perfect Pismo Beach lunch. Nice people too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Creative, friendly, fun”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We've been here a couple of times now and plan to return soon. We've had several excellent sandwiches, especially the Port Astoria (tuna salad with a perfect smattering of apple, pine nuts, and probably something else delicious) and the Port Bella Bella (portabella - a great vegetarian option). We'd like to come back on an afternoon for just chips: some of the best options (such as plantains with chocolate) seem to decadent for lunch. Staff are friendly, helpful, patient, and unstressed even when busy. Orders to take a little while to come up since they're cooked fresh, but at least for now there's not much of a line. Visit now before more people find out about this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chipwrecked also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Chipwrecked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing