We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Gypsy Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Gypsy Motel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Visalia CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pet Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

First time I have stayed at this motel. I chose this motel because it is pet friendly. Rooms was spacious and clean with an ocean view and balcony. Access to the rooms is a bit tricky, expecially for seniors or handicapped. No elevator and stairs are a bit steep. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: No restaurants or fitness center on premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkarr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    54
    17
    15
    7
See reviews for
54
50
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Horrible, horrible, horrible!!!!

We have stayed at so many hotels and have never experienced what we experienced at Sea Gypsy. There is a girl with glasses at the reception and the way she behaves is as if she is the manager or maybe she thinks she is God herself. The check out time is at 12 noon. We had one infant and another with special needs. And the baby was getting cranky at 11.30ish, so we called to see if we could get like 10-15 minutes more to check out. And that crazy woman refused point blank. It was a weekday non peak season and there was no one waiting emergency for the room, we were bloody paying close to 200 a night for 2 nights and still she treated us like that. And we were loading our car and she calls at 5 minutes to 12 to see if we have left the room. Oh My Gosh, what a terrible service. I can not imagine anyone would do that. We went to the hotel to complain and that stupid lady walked off from us and refused to even listen to us or talk to us and management did nothing. Is this how they plan to get repeat guests. We were not the only family, another family with kids, same treatment. That other guest even joked that better check out fast else we may be escorted out.

I have decided we will never never ever recommend or ever go to that hotel again. That experience toally marred any postitive thing that was out there. There are lot more places with the same type of facilities and I am sure with more manners than Sea Gypsy people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank IamA_Mom2_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesa az
Level Contributor
333 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel sits right on the beach, with a short stairway to the sands below.
The front units have the best view and there are some second and third floor units in the
rear that have partial views. We took the only available unit, a partial-view studio
on the second floor which had a Murphy bed in the spacious room . Surprisingly,
it was comfortable, but you may want to ask before booking if that is a concern.
There is morning coffee. but no breakfast, so you have to go around the corner
to eat. Keep this in mind: there is no air conditioning. The open window with sea breeze and a small fan worked in mid-September, but summer may be a different matter, especially
if you can't get a front unit.

Room Tip: ask for a front unit and what kind of bed is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mesatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We've stayed her 3 or 4 times over the last few years and we have found this to be one of the best deals in town. We choose this place over others primarily because it allows dogs and is one of the few that do. The rooms are very well kept though they are a bit dated. It's an older hotel, and while there are others nearby that are much newer, we prefer the charm of this place, not to mention that it sits on top of a hill so that most rooms have an incredible view of the beach. It's literally steps from the sand and is just a short walk from the motel to the center of town. The rooms are clean and well kept and the ones that we've stayed in all have a little kitchenette which is a very nice feature. The service is great! We plan to keep coming back year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room in the lower building (unless you like to climb a lot of stairs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Much cheaper out of season, beach front 8/27 $125, can't beat that, one bed and a sleeper sofa, typical sleep quality, nice property, sleepy beach town, near eateries, coffee and the pier, enjoyed it 200 character minimum they called to see if we were still coming

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunrise2Sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in one of the family suites in July and I was so impressed. There was a very well-equipped kitchen, the place was clean, the staff were very helpful, it's a great location but what I really liked was the attention to detail. For example, the fridge was in the room I slept in and it ran silently. Same with the AC. There were no squeaky doors (important to me because I get up early) - even the bathroom fan worked so well that after a shower the mirror was practically dry already. I just kept noticing stuff like this the whole time we were there...and I should have reviewed this sooner because I would probably have remembered even more!

One thing I do remember is that there was a sign on the door saying our suite was owned by some other people. I asked about this and they said every room is privately owned, and the owners get priority; otherwise the rooms are up for grabs. Maybe this is why everything worked so well?

I noticed the outdoor landscaping was very well maintained also. The place is not big and even the pool is a triangle shape due to limited space - but my kids certainly didn't mind and they spent a ton of time in the pool. Plus it's so easy to walk to downtown Pismo. We would definitely stay here again - and hopefully we will next year!

Room Tip: If you are 5 or more, go for the suites - they are 2 rooms put together, and we were in one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Used to come here frequently when we were younger and glad to say we still find Sea Gypsy a great place to stay. We love the location, both its on the sand orientation, and proximity to pier area. We always get an ocean front room and love to sleep with the ocean sounds right there. And then walking on the beach, and walking to all our favorite places, is just the best!

The included kitchen makes staying there so convenient. The wallbed in the front unit is pretty comfortable, and there's a pullout sofa bed for extra sleeping space. We often get the attached back bedroom unit as well - fully equipped comfy room. Although there is a fresh ocean breeze, the front room can be stuffy if you don't have access to the back bedroom and can open that window for cross-ventilation. Also, on this trip, we had some noisy neighbors who were also smokers, out on their deck, so we got some of their excess.

There is a good pool and jacuzzi. The staff is terrific. There is also plenty to do near Pismo - wineries, San Luis Obispo, lots of small towns nearby like Avila Beach, Arroyo Grande and Oceano.

The Sea Gypsy and Pismo Beach are highly recommended!! We will keep going back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalGal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gypsy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gypsy Motel

Property: Sea Gypsy Motel
Address: 1020 Cypress St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Sea Gypsy Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Gypsy Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing