We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean access great but no privacy”
Review of Sea Gypsy Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Gypsy Motel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ocean access great but no privacy”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here one night with an ocean front room on the first floor right next to the ocean access walk way from the hotel to the beach. My 6 year old son loved being able to get to the sand and walk to the pier and fish. My husband did not enjoy the 1 st floor room right next to the beach access as lots of people walked right by our balcony and could see directly into our room. I was ok cause it was only one night and I could walk with my son to the pier to fish. My son and I enjoyed watching all the dogs parade by our balcony. Also the room had worn out carpet and and an old kitchen it appeard clean but seemed worn out in need of updating. I would not recommend staying in the hotel for a relaxing romantic getaway it is fine for families if you'd like other families and dogs!

Michelle

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Auntie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    54
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
57
50
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I love the Sea Gypsy because it is right on the sand and the balconies have an unequalled view, but it is an older aesthetic, it doesn’t have air conditioning (which is missed in the summer) and the sofa pullout wasn’t the most comfortable bed out there.

It was clean, had a nice kitchen and free wifi. They do allow pets, which meant that we had a barking dog noise occasionally.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We asked to check in early because we were staying in another place the lady Debbie at the counter was wonderful she's a great person. I understand why they hired here they very smart to do that. She helps there business. The stay was wonderful as were the rooms I will definitely be going back. The views were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bythelightofthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Have stayed here before. The unit was clean and the view was great. The kitchen was well stocked and very clean. The entire staff was the "Best of the Best". Very helpful with local information. Found a great breakfast place. Tio Albertos, on Price street. The breakfast Burrito was fantastic, took them back to the room and had breakfast to the sound of the Pacific.

Room Tip: Ocean front have the best views of the ocean. Can really hear the sounds of the surf at night. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Best bang for the buck ! On the beach!! And within 5 min walking distance from all the adventures of downtown pismo beach ! Will repeat ! Staff was flexible to an extreamly late check in and an extended stay for a late check out !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADLnKLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Presidents' Day weekend. My wife's family stays here ever Presidents' Day weekend. I have had the pleasure of staying here twice. Checked in early in Friday and the room was ready. We were in rooms 204 & 206, this was an ocean front room with the second bedroom in the back.

The room was clean the view was amazing, oh yea and the price is right. The rooms are always cleaned as soon as we left in the morning. The beach access cannot be beat either. There is nothing fancy about the rooms but they are clean and comfortable. The staff was nice, we really did not interacted with the staff that much. Lots of families staying at the hotel. Kids running around and what not.

I am sure we will be back next year!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ledieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Every year I go to Pismao Beach for Thanksgiving. I look forward to having a nice, peaceful stay there. Pismo Beach to me is like stepping back in time. The last three years I have stayed at the Sea Gypsy Motel. The people there are really nice and helpful, the rooms are clean and they are always doing upkeep and making improvements. I love to stay in the studios with a full kitchen and ocean view and a view of the peir. They have cable TV, and internet is available without an extra charge. There is a pool and hot tub too. It is walking distance from downtown where you can find some nice shops and plenty of good places to eat. They not only allow dogs but are pet friendly. Some places merely tolerate dogs (of a certain size) at a price but I feel like the Sea Gypsy accomadates them. They will provide extra pet blankets. Even though they are usually packed with people, you don't hear a lot of noise from the other guests/rooms. As I reluctantly check out I make my reservations for the next year.

Room Tip: I would always get a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyH_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,181 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gypsy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gypsy Motel

Property: Sea Gypsy Motel
Address: 1020 Cypress St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Sea Gypsy Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Gypsy Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing