We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean View”
Review of Steamers of Pismo - CLOSED

Steamers of Pismo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dolliver
Saint Helena California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ocean View”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The location and the view of the ocean are spectacular. The food
is good, not excellent and not bad either, just good. The prices were for Micheline Star prices, which the food was not. The ambiance is more from the '90s without the smoke.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    202
    103
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great disapointment”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have been coming to Steamer's for special occasions since it opened. Our last experience was awful. The restaurant was not busy (only the window tables were occupied).

After a very long wait, a waiter finally appeared at our table. We ordered a bottle of McLintock’s Chardonnay. After another long wait, the waiter finally returned only to inform us that they no longer had McLintock’s Chardonnay. At this point we were quite hungry and asked if he could bring us some bread. He informed us that McLintocks was no longer providing bread free of charge at lunch and that it would cost us $2.00. I told the waiter that we were quite dissatisfied and why. We decided that we’d had enough and decided to leave. I asked the waiter if they had new management and he said that they have a new manager. The waiter, by the way, seemed quite inexperienced and did not know how to handle the situation.

As we were getting up to leave, a woman who had been sitting with her husband across the aisle came over to our table. She said that she overheard our conversation with the waiter and had also been experiencing the same kind of problem. She informed us that others had also told her of their bad experiences (some of them had left as we did), that there has been a high turnover of employees at the restaurant, and that they had hired a new manager. Needless to say, we were sadly disappointed and will not return to Steamers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful View and great food”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The view is wonderful and the food delightful. The seafood is special and the deserts are excellent. Time your visit for sunset!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMcClureDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going down”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have been eating fish and chips at Steamers for years. The food is still great but the portions are getting smaller and they aren't including some elements they used to. I would understand if prices rise but skimping on portions doesn't sit well with me. We ordered what we usually get from the menu in our adjacent hotel room. When the order came and wasn't what was described in the menu they told us the fault was with the hotel. I was not satisfied. Even though the food still tasted good I probably won't be going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank randolrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
891 reviews
607 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,777 helpful votes
“Very Average Food With Slow Service”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The wait was too long at Ventana for our baby grandson's feeding schedule, so we opted for Steamer's since they had immediate seating. The views are pretty here and the ambiance is nice but the food had gone downhill since our last visit a few years ago.

Our service was slow as molasses and everyone found the food quality to be very mediocre. My Mahi Mahi entree was way overprice at $32/plate and was of very average food quality. There was nothing special about this restaurant other than there was no wait. We wished we would have gone to Brad's for half the price. My Sauvignon Blanc was the best part of the meal.

I cannot recommend this restaurant to visitors to the area. Sorry!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamers of Pismo also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing