We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steamers Pismo Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steamers of Pismo - CLOSED

Steamers of Pismo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dolliver
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Steamers Pismo Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very Pricey, but very good. However, serving size was a little small for some of the seafood entrees. The Filet Mignon's were a solid 10 on a scale of 10. Service was excellent, and the ocean is viewable through the large glass windows from most of the tables in the restaurant. A very nice place to eat dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    202
    103
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome view of the Pacific Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We arrived about 5 p.m., without reservations, and were seated at a beach-front window booth. Our waiter was prompt, cordial, helpful with our menu selections and attentive. I started off with their (to die for) clam chowder, followed by Seafood Pasta. Both were very delicious....served hot and fresh. My husband started off with a 1/2 lb steamers. over linguini (special, made to order appetizer) and then had one of their new menu offerings, the FMcLintocks Triple Threat Burger, which he said was one of the best burgers he's had in quite sometime. Ambiance is delightful; surroundings within the restaurant are a bit dated but okay; but, the view at sunset is not to be missed and the food is delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfitzgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helena California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ocean View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The location and the view of the ocean are spectacular. The food
is good, not excellent and not bad either, just good. The prices were for Micheline Star prices, which the food was not. The ambiance is more from the '90s without the smoke.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great disapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have been coming to Steamer's for special occasions since it opened. Our last experience was awful. The restaurant was not busy (only the window tables were occupied).

After a very long wait, a waiter finally appeared at our table. We ordered a bottle of McLintock’s Chardonnay. After another long wait, the waiter finally returned only to inform us that they no longer had McLintock’s Chardonnay. At this point we were quite hungry and asked if he could bring us some bread. He informed us that McLintocks was no longer providing bread free of charge at lunch and that it would cost us $2.00. I told the waiter that we were quite dissatisfied and why. We decided that we’d had enough and decided to leave. I asked the waiter if they had new management and he said that they have a new manager. The waiter, by the way, seemed quite inexperienced and did not know how to handle the situation.

As we were getting up to leave, a woman who had been sitting with her husband across the aisle came over to our table. She said that she overheard our conversation with the waiter and had also been experiencing the same kind of problem. She informed us that others had also told her of their bad experiences (some of them had left as we did), that there has been a high turnover of employees at the restaurant, and that they had hired a new manager. Needless to say, we were sadly disappointed and will not return to Steamers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful View and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The view is wonderful and the food delightful. The seafood is special and the deserts are excellent. Time your visit for sunset!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMcClureDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamers of Pismo also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing