We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunsets amazing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steamers of Pismo - CLOSED

Steamers of Pismo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dolliver
Merced, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunsets amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Loved their clam chowder, had a salmon dish, excellent, and theysunset was amazing. Next door to the Kon Tiki so perfect.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dynarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    202
    103
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“View outstanding. Food?.??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have been eating at steamers since it opened and know the owners. So very disappointed at how the food quality has go down hill.
Last week was the worst meal ever. Husband had the eggplant Parmesan (not good). I had the calamari steak, that use to be so good, it was so greasy and so poorly presented. Don't know what's happening. They were very busy, but I think people go thinking with that view the food has to be good.
Please bring the food quality back

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ran in for a quick dinner after arriving at our hotel. Service excellent. Food a pleasant surprise. Fantastic setting. Right on the cliffs overlooking beach.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbartaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The view, not the food, is the reason to go.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We dined at Steamers while staying at the Kon Tiki Inn. Great view overlooking the Pacific if you have a window table. We ordered the clams for our appetizers which were bathed in a delicious sauce, great for dipping our bread. But the clams themselves were very small and the large portion enough for only two. My husband ordered a cup of the clam chowder, which had hardly any clams in it and the calamari steak which was tasty. I had the steak with blue cheese. The steak was ordered medium....came out well done. They graciously took it back and very quickly brought out another....this time medium rare- rare in the center. I ate the majority of it leaving the rare center...the flavor was good. To accommodate us they comped the bread pudding dessert, which was very good. Our waitress was great. Overall, an ok place to dine but the prices were a bit steep for the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeavinVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great bread pudding! We ordered it to-go, and the hostess helpfully provided instructions as to get the best of it. She suggested we didn't take it warm but rather heat it in the microwave, and she had the glaze part separated so that it wouldn't make the bread soggy. What great customer service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanderingtrtl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steamers of Pismo also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing