We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent motel at a good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Seal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Seal Inn
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 933 helpful votes
“decent motel at a good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

we arrived in this motel with a coupon and we paid 55€ per night for a double room. the room was decent and clean. the position is good (3 minutes walking distance from the center of the town that is really small). furnishings were not modern but we didn't spend a lot of tme in the room so , at the end, the motel was ok

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank froggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    18
    14
    35
See reviews for
25
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were driving up the coast out of season, so could have taken our pick of places at Pismo Beach, but it was dark and late and we wanted somewhere to stop off and get some sleep so pulled into the Blue Seal. It was a friendly welcome, the room was cheap given the coastal location, and I liked the quaint blue buildings! It was walking distance into town and to the Pier. It is not exceptional, but I felt for the money we got a good safe, comfortable clean room, and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipx69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Last night we stayed in a Red Roof Inn in Monterey for $130, there were bugs in the bathroom, carpet was dirty and the toilet wasn't bolted down and then it decided not to flush! We came go Pismo today with no reservations and decided to check the blue seal, the front desk clerk/manager? Was exceptionally nice, got us extra pillows and gave us a great rate. Room is a little dated but just fine for what we need it for, sleep and shower. Location is walking distance to everything. I would def come back to the blue seal.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajo628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Everything was dirty, the towels had what im hoping was only ketchup on them. The blankets and pillows and sheets were stained, uncleaned, and had what appeared to be blood on them. My boyfriend and I are always checking hotels for bedbugs before we even sit on the bed, and when checking between the mattresses we found somebodies dirty socks and underwear. We slept on the other bed in the room, thinking maybe it was safer... Well, next morning, I have two bites on my arm. So I'm just going to warn, this place might have bedbugs on top of dirty linens and towels.
Gross.
& the place smells like mold.
OH! The management is biased to who they will rent to and how much they will charge you, and they are rude and scold you if you let anyone know how much you get your room for because people start calling them out. I'm white and they gave me a 3 bed room for $125, but I was talking to a black girl outside later and she told me that she had begged for the same room but the management wouldn't go lower then $250. After she confronted the manager asking why he changed the price for the person next in line he got upset and came to my room telling me not to talk about the prices of rooms to other people staying there. WTF?

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pismo Beach hotels

Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place was gross!! It stunk, the carpet was old and soiled, black mold around bathroom window, everything is super outdated as well as the toilet seat that was chipped all over it (crevices for germs!) I have a habit of searching hotel mattress's for bed bugs, blood looking stains on mattress, snot or puke looking gunk on walls. For being such a small hotel I would think it would be cheap and easy to keep up on this place. It was cheap, only thing liked about it, but you get what you pay for. The parking was horrible, too small of parking spots, car got dinged. Will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesToGetaway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were desperately ready to get to the beach so driving around looking for a room was out of the question. After the first couple of places at 250+a nite we were ready for anything. Beds werent bad, bedding looked clean except for 2 pillowcases. Only bath towels, no hand towels or washclothes. Bathroom looks like it has been remodled reciently, tile and granite countertop. It wouldnt have been too bad but once in awhile I would get the whiff of urine. My husband said he couldnt smell it. Regardless, and knowing prices at the coast, we would stay there again. And its close enough you can walk to splash cafe and to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onrebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

VERY NASTY PLACE......No free coffee and what ever. Towels are stain...Box springs coming up from bed. NO AC...T.V shot no color.. Floor dirty...Smells , Better off sleeping outside.. No lighting on one side of the room..I Stayed in room 24....NEVER.NEVER NEVER again I WILL stay there......Please save your money and go somewhere else!!!!! Thanks

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kash009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#14 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pismo Beach Hotel
Pismo Beach Hotel
#21 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach House Inn and Suites
Beach House Inn and Suites
#19 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Cove Motel
Dolphin Cove Motel
#18 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Seal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Seal Inn

Property: Blue Seal Inn
Address: 230 Dolliver St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2664
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Seal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Seal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Seal Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing