We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated hotel and still under construction (04/01/12).”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Traveled: 04/01/12-04/02/12

If you're going to sleep after 9 a.m. as of now (except Sunday is no work day), you might as well stay in another hotel. This one is doing some finishing touches and work on the 2nd floor because they are updating the hotel. I was surprised to notice it's new and modern with the smell of fresh paint! I'm actually pretty glad I get to stay in an updated hotel with no worries of bed bugs during my stay.

It definitely looks roomie with a king size bed. It has a small buffet area next to the bathroom that holds a microwave, a mini coffee machine, and a refrigerator which this section of the room may had been formally a sink area. The bathroom is updated nicely too. Wifi/internet, shampoo, soaps, iron and iron board are included. Yes, if you have a cooler, you could get free ice. We didn't bother to get breakfast, but it's included. Has air conditioning and an old style heater. Free parking, but first come, first serve I believe as spaces are limited.

Overall, it's nicely updated and a great deal! Book it while you could still smell the fresh paint!

Room Tip: Book this while it's still fresh and updated while getting the best deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLSoCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

nine weeks at the same establishment: And when the off season is over, management would rather threat you like an unruley tourist than a good paying coustomer. Note, when checking out management will ask you to do this Tripadvisor deal for them. THEY DO NOT CARE! Motel 6 is directly up the road!!!!!!!! Check out their better business skills... F-

Room Tip: Call the Chamber of Commerce first. With out customers this motel will go under quickly. There are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knucksout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanpalmmotel, Front Office Manager at Ocean Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear guest,

Your stay with us at the Ocean palms motel was greatly appreciated by us, we are sorry to read you thought otherwise, i would like to explain again as we did then, that we have seasonal rates, during the winter months and that our rates do change during the spring and summer seasons and on special events as they do at each individual motel, as i am sure you have experienced during your travels, we did offer you, a discounted rate, off our going weekend rate, as a repeat guest, we are sorry we are not able to offer you the weekday winter rate on weekends, we appreciated and respected your stay with the utmost courtsey and would only ask that in return with comments posted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel was within easy walking distance of everything in Pismo Beach. The room was clean and roomy, with wi-fi, a mini fridge, and microwave. Unfortunately, it's just below the 101, so there's traffic noise all night. This is easily managed with ear plugs, and for the price, it's worth a little inconvenience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Booked on short notice and was really surprised at the price vs value. We usually stay at the $250 per night places but for just a quick trip we decided to roll the dice on this place. Looks like we will stay here from now on and spend the money saved on food and wine ( and gas). Bring your own pillows. Bathroom clean, bed clean. Coffee in the room as well as in the office. Plan in breakfast a few miles south of town at either the Depot Cafe or the Rock & Roll Diner. You won't be disappointed. Dave from Clovis

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supportarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel manager Bob saved my life! A few weeks ago I went camping at North Beach with a few of my buddies. From the moment we had arrived at our camping spot, the temperatures were already well below 50 degrees. After going to bed around midnight, I woke up at 2 am freezing in my tent, I had never been so cold in my life. At this point I decided I would bail on my friends and walk to the nearest hotel, the first hotel I went to never answered their door, so I was forced to find the second nearest, which landed me at the Ocean Palms Motel. I rang the bell, praying that someone would answer, and out came Bob, who hooked me up with a room for the night. The room was great, spacious, clean, and a comfy WARM bed. I had never been so relieved in my life. I am so thankful Bob answered the bell that night, he was very helpful and friendly, and we had a good laugh the next morning when I checked out. Thank you Bob!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexb168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My brother and me were on a ski roadtrip from Québec to California and stopped at Ocean Palms. We loved it! We didn't expected it to be this great, way better than all the previous big names motels we went to during our trip! Superb showers and the flat screen tv are a really nice touch! Bob and his staff are so friendly and welcome you with a smile unlike some places...Wish we could of stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taavi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Newly renovated. Surprisingly decent place to stay. Caring and friendly environment. All new amenities. Motel wouldn't be the same without bob! Good people

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00692728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,442 reviews
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#24 of 29 in Pismo Beach
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
#19 of 29 in Pismo Beach
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £52 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing