We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get more than what you pay for!”
Review of Ocean Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Palms Motel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“You get more than what you pay for!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We've stayed here many times as we drive through Pismo Beach about once a month. We always stay for just one night but the price is what keeps us coming back! We always feel like we get much more than we paid for here. Great service, awesome location, comfortable beds, clean rooms and again... The price can't be beat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelB-loves-to-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    149
    74
    11
    10
See reviews for
63
164
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I checked in on a Saturday night and was told by the owner that he was expecting me on Friday. I had made the reservation with him several days earlier by phone. At first he was going to charge me for the Friday night, but then he realized the mistake was his and said not to worry and I checked in for my Saturday stay. When I returned home the next evening I saw that my credit card was billed for 2 nights, the Friday I wasn't there, as well as the Saturday. I immediately called him and told him of the billing error and he assured me it would be corrected. Over the course of the next two weeks I called him several times and each time he told me he would look into it and call me back. He has never returned my calls or refunded my money. I feel this is a dishonest way of doing business and he is charging me for a mistake he made, not me. I visit Pismo Beach several times a year but will not be staying here again. Very dishonest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkoop51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were greeted by the friendly proprietor "Bob" who made our request for a main floor room happen. The room is was clean with lots of room. We were surprised to find this at a very good price. A continental breakfast is included (also a nice surprise). Location is good to the beach and to the highway. Will be stopping there next time we are travelling the California coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here one night while driving the California Coast. The Hotel was very nice and affordable. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Check in was easy and parking was right out front of the the room. Waterfront is not far away and walk able. Good restaurants in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

You honestly can't beat this place for the price. We stayed here in the middle of January. Our stay was darn near perfect - the room was spacious, clean and freshly renovated. We were so pleased with our visit that we even stayed an extra night. The bed & pillows were comfy, the housekeeping staff was helpful & accommodating, they even tracked us down when we forgot an article of clothing in the room. The owner was cheerful, despite our VERY late check-in at 11:30pm. The road noise was un-noticeable during our visit - we didn't really have the windows open much however. Despite the hotel being completely booked, it was very quiet. The grounds were perfectly groomed, the pool looked enticing even in January! The location is surprisingly close to the beach - we could have walked. The fresh waffles were a big hit with the kids. We WILL be back and have already recommended this quaint little motel to our friends & family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckygirl1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Used the motel for one night on a road trip , absolutely superb and incredible value . Recently renovated rooms , very clean and nice friendly service - for 50 bucks - awesome value - super impressed with this place and would recommend without hesitation .........

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RandKMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on way to LA, great place to stop and break the journey, such a cute little town with a gorgeous seaside. The room was nice & spacious, the whole place is very clean & tidy. The smell in the reception office is a bit off putting so we decided against breakfast. We would return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sambri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Motel

Property: Ocean Palms Motel
Address: 390 Ocean View Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2516
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing