We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Dolphin bay on our trip through California. The facilities at the hotel were first class, we had a bay view suite and for the two of us it was fantastic. The on site restaurant was all that you would expect and more. And the staff were all enthusiastic in their help towards making your stay comfortable and stress free. I would not hesitate in staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the ocean, the relaxation effect is well worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Greetings Brigitta L,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodations to be fantastic. We are also happy to hear that the staff was helpful in making your stay comfortable and stress free. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a ocean view suite and was the best room I've ever had. The staff at the hotel were awesome. The staff and food at the Lido restaurant were great. I have been vacationing in the Pismo area for over 40 years and have stayed at nearly every hotel. This was the first time at Dolphin Bay and most definitely will not be the last.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Greetings Gary D,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that your accommodations and the staff at Dolphin Bay could exceed all of your expectations. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time in our Lido Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the time you drive up to the time you leave staying at Dolphin Bay is like being pampered and treated like you are special. The room is always spot on - entering with seagulls and wave music - to the beautiful ocean mmmm.
My only constructive help/criticism is that they move the chairs and umbrellas at night - they drag them and might want to pick them up or put something on the bottom f them so around 2AM when you move them away from the restaurant we don't hear them.
The hotel gives you free passes for wine tasting - at $12 a place and lot's of free tasting that is so nice!
Love this place. So relaxing, managed vey well!!!

Room Tip: We had room 411 - top floor with full ocean view. Great room with 2 full bedrooms - good for travel...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zahzel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Greetings Zahzel R,
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and we could make you feel so special. We appreciate your suggestions, for it is suggestions such as yours that help us continue to improve our operations property wide. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were secretly upgraded mid-week! The Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa was beautiful, comfortable, clean and the staff was very nice. Definitely romantic! Loved the pool and the restaurant. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean, of course!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Greetings Fred R,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be so nice. We are also happy to hear that you found your accommodations to be clean as well as comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just returned from our annual Memorial Day weekend trip with friends in the Bay Area. Pismo Beach is the halfway point from Los Angeles (apparently, this is the IN thing to do - we met another 2 couples at the pool who did the same). We rented a 2-bedroom condo. VERY spacious!!! The condo had a fully-equipped kitchen and dining area, as well as a formal dining table, and a living room. There were 2 large bedrooms, and bathrooms, and a washer/dryer in the unit.

The views are unbeatable. We were on the 3rd floor, and you can immediately see the ocean when you walk in. You can also see the pool - which was convenient if some of us wanted to go swimming and some wanted to stay in the room - we can just wave and yell at each other.

They had one restaurant on-site - Lido. I wasn't all too impressed with their food. But because of the kitchen, we were able to cook most of our food, and order in some nights.

This place is super family-friendly. Lots of children running around, laughing and giggling. The best.

And the best thing about this place? the impeccable service. We really felt like people were happy here. Absolutely no snootiness. They cared about our stay. The housekeeping staff worked so hard to keep our rooms clean.

Honestly, if it weren't so darn cold in Pismo (60's), we would come here instead of Hawaii.

We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawyerkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear lawyerkelly,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. It is wonderful to hear how much your enjoyed your time at the resort over the Memorial Day Weekend. It is truly rewarding to hear that you loved the spacious suite, the unbeatable views, as well as the impeccable service by our staff. Word of mouth is the best type of advertisement and we certainly appreciate you sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed in an ocean front suite. The view is beautiful. The suite is huge with lots of room to spread. It also has washer/dryer, which is very convenient if you are traveling with little ones. Our 1.5 year old boy also enjoyed the heated pool very much. The only thing to keep in mind is that, despite the price, this resort has no air conditioning. I have come to accept that this is the standard for hotels in this area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank puccipuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Greetings Puccipuppy,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your ocean front suite and your son had fun playing in our infinity pool. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Beautiful hotel on the bluff... You'll know you're in a special place as you walk in through the lovely entrance. I simply loved lounging outside in the gorgeous weather. Lido restaurant is delicious! I thoroughly enjoyed my crab eggs benedict... I'll be back for the scrumptious looking French Toast! The service is wonderful, the staff is very nice and helpful. Like that they are a pet friendly hotel. Enjoying seeing plenty of guests with their pets.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Greetings Uama1,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy the tranquility of the resort as you lounged in the gorgeous weather. We are also happy that you enjoyed the food in our Lido Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,448 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,017 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,062 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £290 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing