We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a fabulous hotel. Staff and service - excellent, great pool and amazing view. We had a two bedroom suite and it was unbelievably good. So much space and everything you could possibly need. Children loved it too and so many nice touches for them - welcome gift, games cupboard, popcorn, hot chocolate and films. This hotel is on our list to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLW134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings CLW134,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you and your children enjoyed your two bedroom accommodation and all the amenities we had for them. We are also happy that you enjoyed the pool and great views. We hope to be able to welcome you all back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    53
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
196
108
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed all over the world and never had better customer service. The staff treats you like you are their only guest to attend to, always have smiles, and gladly answer any question you have. The room is amazing, very clean, spacious, and nice size patio to relax on. There are great little bonuses, like the popcorn, hot chocolate, and movie library that are free to guests. In the morning, we utilized their free bike rentals and rode only a mile away down to Seaside Cafe for an amazing breakfast. We couldn't get a late check out, but they held our bags for us and let us use the pool until it was time to catch our flight. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentnKris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings BrentnKris D,
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found the staff to be so friendly and attentive. We are also happy that you were able to relax in the pool and on your spacious patio. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

By far this hotel has been the best amongst our family road trip around California. Our rooms overlooked the ocean, luxurious yet homely - great facilities, delightful team there who were incredibly helpful - everything just perfect and look forward to returning there one day!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings HellyYork,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay on your California road trip. We are also happy that you found our team to be so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Fantastic property with good reception staff ,good pool,and great views.
The real star of the Hotel must be the ocean front suites because:-
1.so very spacious with large kitchen area that includes microwave,dishwasher,washing machine(yes washing machine),ice &drinks machine,stove ,2 different kettles,coffee machine,complete ---5star.
2.massive rooms for clothes to hang,iron and store--5star
3.brilliant bathrooms----5 star.
4.great bedroom with brilliant bed and linens---5 star.

Room Tip: Ocean front sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40yearsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings 40yearsoftravel,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed the reception staff, pool and views. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and all the amenities we have to offer. We eagerly await your next visit.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have just returned from another stay. We were there two years ago, and were able to stay a little longer this time. The staff were just as friendly and professional as last time and the facility was well cared-for and spotless.

The view is great - again, ask for a top floor room if possible. The other benefit of a top floor room is the inclusion of these great skylights in the bathroom and hall.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a much better view and great skylights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings Happytrap,
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return visit. We are also happy that you found the staff to be so friendly and the facility well-cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back, once again, in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We enjoyed staying here a few months ago. Great view from our room to the ocean. Pool is also next to the ocean as well. Very nice. Front desk staff was extra friendly and accomodating. We also forgot our jackets in our room and the front desk staff went and got them for us and kept them until we returned that evening.

Room Tip: Best to get a room that is straight facing the ocean. They have corner rooms too and you get less o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsugimoto1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings Jsugimoto1010,
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your ocean view and found the staff to be so accommodating. We are also happy that we could assist in returning your items to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Sadly we only stayed here the one night on our West Coast road trip but it was a lovely stay. Probably one of the best equipped suites we have ever stayed in and despite a little hiccup on check in, we really enjoyed our short stay here.

We had 3 suites all pool facing and all excellent. Finding our own washing machine & dryer tucked away in the suite was a brilliant bonus for a big family on a long trip. Lovely pool area & jacuzzi and great cocktails and only a short walk to the beach. We didn't eat here as there was a local food market which was recommended to us at Avila Beach but the restaurant looked nice and was very busy. The only negative point was the charge of $20 per room per night which we were made aware of on check in. This was apparently to cover the pool towels, DVD hire, pool games, internet etc. We were a little miffed at this as the hotel is top end price wise so it would have been far better to have just included it in the overall price when we booked rather than adding it as a sting on check in. As it happened, the charge was taken care of by the very nice desk lady.

Many thanks. We would return here and will advice our UK agent to recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FOXYSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings FoxySki,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us on your West Coast road trip. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for a more extensive stay.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing