We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We just spent two great nights at Dolphin Bay, with a stunning suite (luxury apartment) overlooking the pool and Pacific Ocean.

As well as excellent rooms, the staff was very helpful, and all the little extras a great touch.

The only minor thing for us was that the free bikes did not have a tag along for our youngest, but that wasn't too much of an issue.

It's a premiere resort so not cheap but highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Greetings Gav G,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay with us in your ocean view accommodation. We are also happy to hear that you found the staff to be so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    57
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
211
117
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel was the highlight of our Californian holiday - the best out of the eight hotels we stayed in on our travels. We had a beautiful two-bedroom oceanfront suite which was spotlessly clean, extremely spacious and very comfortable for our family of five. The view from the balcony was stunning and the suite offered all amenities, including a very welcome washing machine! On arrival in our suite, the children were made up with the little welcome packs they received which was a lovely and thoughtful gesture. After a couple of busy weeks travelling, we did very little during our stay at Pismo so the pool - and sunshine - was just what we needed. My only advice would be, if possible, avoid staying at the weekend. On the Sunday of our stay we did struggle to find sunbeds around the pool which was very busy. However, the Monday proved much quieter - we had plenty of room and virtually had the pool to ourselves. The staff were all very efficient and friendly - from the time of booking right up to the day we left. We would highly recommend and hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor Oceanfront Suites provide a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HClaire68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Greetings HClarie68,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your two bedroom accommodations and ocean views from your balcony. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the sunshine out at the pool and found the staff to be so efficient. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next vacation to California.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. Top class luxury but with a very down to earth and comfortable feeling.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom Ocean View Suite with our 3 children and it was worth every penny.
The view of the sea (& sunset) was idyllic and the suite was incredibly spacious.
Fully fitted kitchen & utility room. The combined washer/dryer was a Godsend after travelling for 2 weeks beforehand.
We bought food in from the deli-supermarket next door and this should also rate high reviews as the quality of their food was excellent.
Free DVD & bike hire from Reception.
We spent a day at Avila Beach where the kids loved jumping the waves. Great coffee shops/cafés alongside the beach.
A slight negative (being picky) - the sheets on the bed in the spa were VERY crumpled & unironed. Whilst they were obviously clean it was a bit distracting. The facial I had was though was heavenly.
We are already planning a return trip next year :)

Room Tip: Definitely splurge and get an Ocean View Suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Greetings Smithyj1,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your two bedroom suite along with all of the amenities provided. We are also happy to hear that you were able to visit our local Avila Beach for more family fun. We eagerly await your return visit!
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Dolphin Bay Resort on the recommendation of a friend. We needed a place to stop between Carmel and L.A. A place to stay turned into a place to love. Rarely do you find a hotel where the online pictures understate the actual property. This was one of those times. A truly professional team across the board. And the fact that it was a luxury experience AND they are child friendly is worth gold. We had a supposed non-view, partial-view room. Yes, we had the parking lor in view to the left, but the partial (actually full, in our opinion) view to the right was stunning. Breath-taking. We were lucky to catch a special rate, but you will still need semi-deep pockets for a multiple day visit. We will definitely go again and stay for more than just one evening.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebearsofgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Greetings The Bears of Germany,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear that you found the property to be so beautiful and the Dolphin Bay team so professional. We are also happy that you found the view from your suite stunning. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro-West, Boston Mass
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beautiful views/sunsets, great suites, full kitchen & all-in-one washer/dryer. Staff very professional, helpful and friendly. Expensive but worth it. Free bikes and DVDs available to use during your stay. Extremely clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Greetings Paula A,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your beautiful suites along with all of the amenities we have to offer. We are also happy that you found our staff helpful and professional. We eagerly await your return visit!
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My newly wed husband and I stayed at Dolphin Bay Resort for few days right after our wedding.
We wanted some R&R time after our very hectic wedding in southern California.
This resort was just what we wanted and needed.
It was like a time share apartment. The room was spacious with a big kitchen.
We would go shopping to a near by market and spend most of our days lounging in our room.
We would occasionally take a walk along the ocean cliff (within the resort) after lunch and then head out to town. San Louis Obispo is the perfect size town with a great mall and abundant restaurants. Though our favorite restaurant was Restaurant Lido in the basement of Dolphin Bay Resort. Their fresh oysters with champagne vinaigrette sauce or sake vinaigrette sauce was just delicious! I couldn't eat oysters till I've tried the ones here!
Having a rent-a-car was also convenient to tour around Morrow Bay.
We would love to return for our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Chelsea B,

Thank you for providing feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. It is wonderful to hear that you and your husband had an excellent stay celebrating your honeymoon. We are pleased that you were able to relax in your spacious suite, enjoy beautiful walks along our coast, eat delicious food from Lido, and enjoy nearby San Luis Obispo & Morro Bay. We certainly hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Dolphin Bay for your wedding anniversary or when you are just in need of a relaxing stay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at The Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa in an Ocean Front Suite for one night (2 adults and 2 children). The views were absolutely incredible with a beautiful view of the sunset at night!

The suite was incredibly spacious with a fully functional kitchen, and laundry services were available in-room. We had two bedrooms with comfortable beds and TVs in each room (with cable), very luxurious! The living area has a TV, again with cable and the dining area was fantastic, not to mention the jacuzzi bathtub!

You are allowed entry to the pool only by key card and the pool is warm and spacious and very clean, and the jacuzzi is relaxing! There are complementary towels poolside aswell as iced water. There is also a fitness center and a fantastic spa. You can rent popcorn, board games and movies at the Lobby and the staff are lovely and very welcoming and kind!

Across the street there is a gas station with some groceries but further down the street is another grocery store with much more on offer, including salads and cooked chicken etc.

Our stay at the Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa was incredible and we would definitely go again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Sammy144,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed the luxurious suite, the comfortable beds, and the incredible views and sunsets. We are also pleased to hear that your family enjoyed our warm saline pool, the fitness center, The Spa, as well as some of the other amenities we offer like our DVD library, hot chocolate and popcorn. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and it is truly rewarding to receive feedback such as this. Word of mouth is best form of advertisement and we appreciate you sharing all that is wonderful at Dolphin Bay, including our local market De Palo & Sons, on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Dolphin Bay in the near future for another incredible stay.

Warm Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
2.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,977 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,990 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing