We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip: Call first to avoid cave rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple days in summer 2014 when the hotel was full. The staff was friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable, the rooms quiet, and the hot tub was hot and bubbly. The hotel is right off the highway and, though it was full, we had no trouble parking. However, our room felt like a large closet (see below).

Here's a tip: the hotel is built into a hill. While it has 4 floors (reception is on the 4th floor, which feels like the ground floor for the upper parking lot), many or most of the rooms are below ground level and have windows that open onto walls that are quite close to the windows, which makes them dark and can feel claustrophobic. One of our rooms looked out over a trash enclosure. When you make your reservation, call the hotel to see if you can avoid having to stay in one of these rooms. Had we known this in advance, we would have stayed at one of the nearby (above-ground) Motel 6s for half the price, but had sunlight, or just stayed in nearby SLO and enjoyed being able to walk to its cafes and shops. A few rooms here do look towards the ocean (or are otherwise aboveground), but this is not an oceanview hotel.

Also, we did not have in-room wifi. Occasionally, we could find a signal, but it dropped immediately. The front desk was helpful when we contacted them, and we wound up working around that problem.

While the staff was helpful and the hotel is otherwise a solid HGI (with iffy wifi, based on our experience), the potential to get dark, claustrophobia-inducing rooms means we will not return.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to avoid rooms with views of walls.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hayden22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Hayden22,

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay with us this summer. We always strive for perfection and put our best foot forward when it comes to making our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected. I want to send out my sincerest apology that we could not make your stay 100% satisfactory. Thank you for making light of our property layout as it is different from our standard Hilton Garden Inn Brand. I appreciate your feedback, as it is truly invaluable towards the betterment of our staff's ability to greater serve our guests in the future. Once again, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and I am confident that should you return to the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Gordon Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently stayed here for 3 nights for a PCPA Theaterfest/SLO wine tasting trip. The hotel is very nice. Staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor so not too far down. The lighting in the room was pretty dim, but that is very minor. Adjustable beds were very comfortable. The hot tub is really hot! We did not eat or drink at the hotel so I can't comment on that, but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CA Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear CaGal,

Thank you for your choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach for your stay while here on holiday in the Pismo Beach area. I am delighted to know that from your recent experience, our hotel left such a good impression. It is our promise to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected, and it is feedback from guests like you that enable us as a team to continue growing. We take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations by delivering friendly and efficient service to meet every guest's request. Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.


Thank you,
Gordon Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here for a week for business in San Luis Obispo. No complaints. The room was clean. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was convenient and food was decent. I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Zachary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Zachary,

Thank you very much for your kind review, and for choosing the Hilton Garden of Pismo Beach.
I am so delighted to hear of your recent experience with our team and made to order breakfast. Our goal is to always deliver exceptional, friendly service in order to enhance each guests experience. I am pleased that we were able to serve as your 'home away from home" Thank you again for the positive review and we are looking forward to accommodating you on your future travels!

Thank you,

Gordon Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is at about four levels - lobby is level four. Our room was at level two, and it almost felt we were in a basement, hidden from any view. Stuck in a cave-live room, our child wanted to leave immediately. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

The beds were uncomfortable and creaking, for a hotel of this stature, I would expect more comfortable beds. Overall experience is OK, but no WOW factor unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ageorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear AGeorge1,

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay with us in July. I always appreciate feedback from our guests as it is truly invaluable towards the betterment of our staff's ability to greater serve our guests in the future. I want to send out my sincerest apology that we could not make your stay 100% satisfactory. We always strive for perfection and putting our best foot forward when it comes to making our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected. That is our promise. I understand that the issues you encountered take away from that promise. Our staff goes to great lengths to put the guest first and does everything in their power to make sure their needs are met. Once again, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and I am confident that should you return to the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Gordon Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed there with Hilton points and will definitely return as a paying guest thanks to an amazing friendly front desk that knows the meaning of saying "yes" to guests. Property is attractive, rooms are huge and clean, and the breakfast downstairs is graced with attentive and polite staff and made-to-order entrees. High marks all around!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank criticaltravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Sharona211,



Thank you for your choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach for your stay. I am humbled to know that from your recent experience, our team left such a outlasting impression. It is our promise to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected, and it is feedback from guests like you that enable us as a team to continue this level of service. We take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations by delivering friendly and efficient service to meet every guest's request. Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Thank you,
Gordon Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed our 1 night stay here on our drive up the CA coast from SD to SF. The HGI was the least expensive place we stayed out of 6 hotels but it provided the most extras. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was nice, clean, comfortable and nicely sized. Pool was warm and hot tub was hot!!! Pool/patio area was nice with plenty of shade or sun and lots of towels available even though we didn't get out there until after 5pm. Very short ride (5-10 mins.) to the beach. Loved the fresh popcorn and pineapple water available in the lobby. Also free parking which was not the norm for our other stays.

As a Hilton Gold we received a room upgrade and complimentary breakfast. There were 3 of us. Unlike some Hilton brand hotels, the Pismo HGI included my daughter in the comp. breakfast which was very generous of them. Also, for breakfast we were allowed a "made to order" breakfast AND access to the buffet. Very nice. Food was fresh and delicious.

I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sharona211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Sharona211,

Thank you for your choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach for your stay while here on holiday in the Pismo Beach area. I am delighted to know that from your recent experience, our team was able to make it a memorable one. Thank you for making light of our comfortable updated rooms, heated pool, and of our accessible location. We take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations by delivering friendly and efficient service to meet every guest's request. Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.


Thank you,
Gordon Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was very nice but that is not the main reason I would return. It was the staff!!
I work those 10-12 hour days in the sales/service industry and we tend to be very focused on the 'little things' that set us apart.
The team was focused and made us feel like we were the most important guest.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kmdamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Kmdamiani,

Thank you very much for your kind review, and for choosing the Hilton Garden of Pismo Beach.
I am so happy to hear of your recent experience with our team. Our goal is to always deliver exceptional, friendly service in order to enhance each guests expereince. I am pleased that we were able to serve as your 'home away from home." Thank you again for the positive review and we are looking forward to accommodating you on your future travels!

Thank you,

Gordon Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,012 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach

Address: 601 James Way, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £92 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 120 spacious rooms and suites, the Hilton Garden Inn Pismo beach is your new Central Coast vacation headquarters. Amenities include the Great American Grill restaurant serving breakfast and dinner, room service, Pavilion Lounge, free wireless and hard-wired internet access, pool, spa, business center, Pavilion Market serving snacks and beverages, a fitness center, a guest laundry, and over 1,600 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Close to great restaurants and the Pismo Prime Outlets, and only minutes from the beach, the Oceano Dunes, wineries, golf courses and quaint coastal towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Mission Hotel Pismo Beach
Mission Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing