We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2011

nice hotel stayed one night I thought was good value friendly staff free internet in lobby,free parking complimentry continental beakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

What an excellent location for a stay! We arrived a bit early and our accommodations were ready. A very nice second floor room, which is actually at parkig lot level, with an outstanding 180 degree view of the ocean. A small balcony with two chairs and a table outside allowed us to enjoy the ocean breede and the crashing waves on the rocks and we lounged.

The room was spotless! The bed had plenty of covers for a cool night and we didn't need the room air conditioning or heating so can't comment on that. The bathroom had more than sufficient towels and again was super clean. Amenities included the usual shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, and the bath and hand soaps were a cut above the usual hotel fare.

We didn't partake of the continental breakfast, but it is available below the office from 7 am to 10 am daily. We opted to drove an hour south to the Danish town of Solvang to instead enjoy some authentic Danish cooking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Just got back from a great stay along the Central Coast of California . We stayed at this lodge after passing by it for years without stopping . The price was right and since my wife and I are both retired we could stay early week which was better yet . The lobby personell were friendly and very accomadating . We requested and did stay in one of the second story rooms at the south end of the complex . We prefer the upper level because we like to have the sliding door open to the balcony inorder to hear the waves crashing on the cliffs and beach . The view was exceptional and the weather was great . They also had a continental breakfast that was nice . The only negative that comes to mind is that the location is a little beyond a quick walk to downtown Pismo and the Pier . It is doable but a little far for a quickie .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camaromanhanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We've stayed here several times and find it a very relaxing place to stay. The room is spacious, has a refrigerator and counter in bedroom area. We did have a problem with the heating but it was resolved. They offer a complimentary breakfast but the fresh fruit really needs to be upgraded. Try the little restaurant called Splash on 197 Pomeroy Ave for fabulous clam chowder.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satiety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The hotel location -- right at the edge of the bluff -- can't be beat! The ocean views and sunsets, from all the rooms as well as from the gazebos at the cliff's edge, are spectacular. The entire hotel staff and management are extremely friendly. The service provided by the housekeeping staff was outstanding; the buildings, grounds, pool, spa and deck area are beautifully maintained; the breakfast room was well stocked and very clean. The hotel is within easy driving distance of several outstanding golf courses, the Pismo Beach Pier, state beach parks, and many fine restaurants. The Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge is definitely the perfect Central Coast destination!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erbiegolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I spent several months this summer from May to September at Shelter Cove lodge. The views are exceptional from 2nd floor rooms and you can walk to the nearby park that borders a bird preserve. I watched seagulls raise their young and Pelicans and cormorants daily. It is also close to Shopping areas and right on the highway. The staff went out of their to accommodate my needs. Exceptional in every way!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpaul2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I made a last minute reservation to stay here with my small children in order to break up the trip from LA to the Bay Area. . I felt the price was reasonable and when I arrived, check in was quick. The room was directly over looking the sea and we arrived just in time to watch the most amazing sunset. It appears to me that every room here has a great view. The room itself was a bit dated, but clean other than some mold in the caulking in the bathtub. I did not notice the mold when I took a shower, but when I was down at the kids level to bathe them, I did notice it needed to be fixed. Not horrible though. You can hear the freeway but I use earplugs since I am a light sleeper and it did not bother me a bit. I actually only heard the freeway in the morning. Every room has a balcony with nice tall chairs and a table. I would actually recommend this as a nice location for an inexpensive romantic getaway. You feel as though you are just feet from the water. In the morning, they offer a continental breakfast. Although it was a bit carby for a food snob like myself, it was great for my kids. They had a waffle iron and my kids loved making their own waffles. I tried it and have to admit, they were pretty tasty! They offered 2 types of coffee with flavored creamers and milk, several cereals, assorted pastries, hard boiled eggs, and apples and oranges. They also had Yoplait yogurt. The breakfast is located by the pool which I wish we would have had time to use. It is protected from the wind by walls of glass, so you can see the amazing views while eating your breakfast or swimming. I would not recommend the rooms by the pool. You can walk right from your room and be in the pool, just a few steps away. There was no privacy for those rooms. Might be fun if you were with a big group of people though. They also have a lovely lawn area, overlooking the water, great for kids or pets. You can stroll along the cliff, looking down at the water. You can explore around a bit and climb down by the beach, which my kids loved. Be prepared to walk back up though! My best tip: (Perhaps I should keep this secret) As you leave the pool area, there is a giant rock just past the lawn area. If you walk to the west side of this rock, there is one table there. A great spot for a romantic sunset with a cocktail or nice place to enjoy breakfast. Two other reasons I would give this hotel a high rating: They let me have a late checkout with no problem, and I left my phone charger there and they mailed it back to me! While the rooms are not the best rooms I have stayed in, they are certainly decent enough and the other aspects of this hotel (view, free breakfast, nice area to walk around, and customer service) make it an excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,163 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £130 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, The Inn at the Cove is the ideal destination for a retreat for real life. Escape your every day in our tranquil, oceanfront setting, and enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and unbeatable proximity to the Central Coast's famous wine country and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing