We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing ocean view - we saw dolphins from our balcony!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing ocean view - we saw dolphins from our balcony!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Just loved the room at Shelter Cove! The room was large and clean and the king bed and pillows were very comfy! We attended a wedding in Avila and it was just a short drive from our motel to the venue. One day, we drove just a few minutes to Pismo Beach to have lunch and dinner (The Cracked Crab, yum) and to walk on the pier, search for sand dollars on the beach and shop at the little gift shops. Such a nice day and so relaxing!
The first morning of our stay at Shelter Cove, we saw three dolphins from our balcony. The only disappointment was not seeing them again! There is a rock that had sleeping seals that was clearly visible from the hiking trail and grounds of the motel. Lots of birds, especially the pelicans and falcons. Loved just sitting in the morning out on the balcony in a sweatshirt... brrr! It was cold, but loved every bit of it. Cold in the morning, warm in the afternoon and then cold again in the evening! LOVED IT!

I just read the review from Happygolucky below, and I'm very surprised at the bad experience they had. We thoroughly enjoyed the location, staff, room, pool, hot tub. We did not experience anything that was described in that horribly negative review. Whatever.....I checked several other locations to stay and the reviews and prices were not acceptable to us. With our AAA discount, the rate was very reasonable!
If our travels take us back to the San Luis Obispo or Pismo Beach area, we wil absolutely stay at Best Western Shelter Cove, without hesitation!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view! Ask for street or second level for best location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texan_in_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    374
    87
    31
    22
See reviews for
391
702
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Room was large and clean. Beds were small and uncomfortable. Toilet had a hard time flushing just liquids let alone anything else.

Excellent views, great pool area, although half the jets in the spa did not work. Great free breakfast and friendly staff.

Close to everything, awesome slice of coastline. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimAtKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

we loved our stay here. our room was big, clean and airy and had an awesome view of the cliffs and ocean. the staff were super friendly and helpful. best place to stay in pismo!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with 2 kids (8 and 3). Just enough distance from Pismo town to enjoy the ocean view. Large rooms. Nothing fancy but clean, Great front desk and room service. Balcony screen got stuck and the person came to fix it ( within minutes) actually serviced the entire door ( says a lot about thoughtful employees). Requested extra towels the first day and we had them all 3 days without asking for again.
Small breakfast area, but pool site and lobby tabels were available. May be they can tweak the menu by adding a meat product (boiled eggs were available). Stayed at BW's with more frills, but good for a "on the beach" BW. Left the hotel happy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

First, the views are spectacular and the rooms are comfortable, and I found the staff very helpful, so overall we enjoyed our stay. They even upgraded us when the nicer rooms weren't totally full. But the breakfast was just okay in a sad looking, small room (we ate in our room every morning) and I'd expect more, like a gym or a working business center (the computer was having problems). Overall, a nice place, but anything more than the $168 a night we paid would have been too much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KidsInT0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We had the best sleep we ever had away from home,,, Everyone was very nice and had a great continental breakfast.. The only thing we could possebly complain about was the toilet kept running and when we called the front desk they sent someone like within 5 min. It worked for a while but started again. We just kept the bathroom door shut through the night and it was fine. We let them know at the desk the next morning when we checked out. We are going to stay again in september of this year and bring our daughter this time,, Hopeing to get her to want to get married next year here... ; )

Room Tip: Want it to be realy quiet,,, stay up stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkplug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The room was very nice and of good size, but nothing special. The bed was very comfortable and with the sliding door open we could hear the ocean waves. We had a glass of wine or two after dinner out on the balcony. The ocean view is fantastic, however you cannot see the sunset. There is beach access, however it's a steep drop and the beach is not very sandy. The walk to the Pismo Pier is about a 1/2 hour. Great restaurants and the town are only a few minutes’ drive. Breakfast is provided, although it is just your basic continental. We ate out by the pool, which is in a nice setting with ocean views and blocked from the wind.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack.goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing