We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This was our first stay at the Shelter Cove Lodge and we loved the view, so much better than that of their sister Shore Cliff Lodge. The room was clean and did need some decor updating but I prefer a better view to a updated room. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was located right in the hotel as opposed to being held in an adjacent restaurant. There are trails that lead to the beach and down towards the water, they are not to be missed. I plan to return here next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: ask for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50statestraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    371
    85
    29
    22
See reviews for
386
680
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel is ideally located in front of the see. The room are all in front of the ocean and the view is WOW when you wake up on the morning and enjoy the view on your small terrace. The pool and the spa have also an exceptional panorama.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

It is true about the view, can't beat it. Our only complaints were about the TV reception, the low toilet height in the bathroom and the light on the balcony has no way to control it. It stays on all night and is quite bright. Otherwise it is a nice place to stay while on the road. The Shell Cafe down the road toward the pier has a great breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I love this place. I have stayed here three times. I like to stop by when taking a "scenic" route from Northern California back down to Los Angeles. It's perfectly situated right off the freeway, and each room has a fantastic balcony with a view of the cliffs that overlook the Pacific. The rooms are very large, stocked with Bath & Body Works toiletries, and is complete with a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker.

The decor is outdated, and so is the TV but who cares when you have such a fantastic view at such a decent rate? I highly recommend Zorro's which is about a half mile away if you want a delicious, hearty breakfast - they also advertise a pretty good happy hour with cheap beers and tacos. The Pismo Beach pier is also located nearby.

Room Tip: Each room has a great view. You really can't lose, but I like the top rooms better. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MigratingBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The area has gotten VERY pricey so, to find a "moderately priced" hotel with killer views is a bonus. It's nothing fancy and could use a little updating but the staff was friend, the room more than adequate and the local very good. But it's the view that gets you. EVERY room has an ocean view and the Central CA coast has some of the best views in the world. Didn't think too much of their "free" breakfast but free is free. Everything else was very good at a reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were so happy at this place. The view from our room, & views from anywhere on the property were unreal.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are the best, but they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunburywolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The room was nice and spacious. We had a little terrace that opens onto the pool.
The staff was very friendly.
The breakfast was good but basic.
The location was perfect. Not far from Hwy 101 and close to everything.
The ocean view was outstanding !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing