We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay with your 4 legged companions =)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay with your 4 legged companions =)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Me, my husband and our 2 dogs stayed at the Best Western Shelter Cove for 3 nights. We sold our toy hauler last year and now have limited places to stay because we do take our dogs with us. The entire reason we picked this hotel was for the sole purpose of bringing our dogs. A lot of hotels are pet friendly but have weight restrictions and/or are limited to 1 dog. Also, the pet fees other hotels charge are ridiculous. Shelter Cove's pet fees are reasonable but I felt the room was a pricey for the quality. The beds/pillows could use major improvement. They are awful! The room itself was fairly clean, although there were cobwebs in the corner of the joining room door that had been there quite a while. The walls are thin and you can hear everything outside. You can hear people stomping up the stairs to their rooms, slamming doors and stomping around their room above you. You can hear the cleaning crews outside your room. You can hear other people opening and closing their sliding doors to the patios. The gardeners came when we were there and because the grass is almost touching your patio, they were very loud. But that's to be expected. My dogs would bark at every loud thump and unfamiliar noise but it was a protecting bark and not being in their own environment bark. They would stop as soon as I told them no but I was stressed out the entire time about someone complaining. No one ever did. There was nothing special about the bathroom. The shower is small (and I'm not a big person!). The view is AMAZING. You can hear the waves when you have your sliding door open. It was peaceful and relaxing to sit on the patio and just watch the ocean. I think the view makes up for every negative thing about the hotel. The TV's are updated flat screens. Nothing in the room was broke, everything worked fine. The continental breakfast was just okay. The coffee was great. The pet friendly rooms are conveniently located next to the dog potty area, so it's not a long ways in the mornings when they have to go! They were out of bags to pick up after your dog the whole 3 days we were there and they only left 3 in the room for you to use. Thank goodness I thought ahead and brought a bunch. The complimentary dog blanket (they didn't use) and dog bowl (they didn't use) were very tiny. My dogs are 66 lbs and 90 lbs, so they were useless to them, but they were a nice thought. My husband towed his Rhino in an enclosed trailer and the parking isn't accommodating for any type of trailer. There is a field about 1/4 mile down the road that Best Western owns and you can park there. We did worry about someone breaking into the truck/trailer because it's a dark field but nothing happened. The check in and check out was quick and easy. The staff was friendly.

All in all, we would stay there again. I feel the ocean view makes this hotel worth it.

Room Tip: The view is amazing from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NailChickMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breathtaking views during your stay. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding what you liked about your stay and how we may improve. Our goal at Shelter Cove is to ensure each and every guest has an pleasant experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you and look forward to seeing you and your dogs the next time you are in the Pismo Beach area.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    361
    79
    26
    22
See reviews for
376
649
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked this on short notice on our way down the coast to LA. The hotel is conveniently located close to HWY101 and right on the ocean, but we didn't have any street noise.

The room was really large, and although a bit dated, clean and cozy. Breakfast was interesting as they have a pancake machine that provided for a lot of entertainment. The rest of the breakfast was decent, but we have had better at other Best Westerns.

We didn't really do much else here as we arrived late and left early - but you could do worse than staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoernski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I know your stay this time was brief; however we look forward to seeing you next time and hope you will have a few moments to spend exploring our beautiful Central Coast. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to seeing again soon!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

they have selected rooms if you are traveling with your pets. We stayed at rm#103. our dog caught fleas and of course it infected the entire family. room view and surroundings is beautiful. they just need to clean up. the receptionist Amber was chatting with this guy about computer when i check in. I sat down and waited and waited. and finally, i got up and said something. they have small hotel lobby for her to see me when i walk in. i will not go back in this hotel

Room Tip: don't use room #103 if you are traveling with your pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isawlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and that you were able to take in the beautiful scenery from our property. It is our goal to offer superior customer service to each and every guests and I do apologize if you felt this was not what you received during your time in our lobby.

I want to assure you that we continue to be proactive in our approach of leading the industry in cleanliness and ensuring that each and every rooms is thoroughly inspected prior to being occupied. As you can imagine, it is easy for our furry friends to carry the sand fleas from the beach below so we do have a very intense cleaning process for our pet friendly rooms.

I have taken your feedback seriously and have addressed your concerns with our entire team. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should you find yourself in the Pismo Beach area in the future.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Love the location and ocean views. The breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyd308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate the positive comments. We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Pismo Beach!


Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

A very nice property. Very clean and the beds were comfortable. We didn't expect breakfast so were pleasantly surprised. The views out to the water are outstanding. However beware the property is extremely close to Hwy 101 with heavy trucks rumbling down the hiway. The noise was not too bad but if you are like me and hate hi-way noise it might be somewhat irritating; it was tolerable. My rating would have been higher if not for the hiway noise.
Hint: You may want to just stay in the lower tier rooms as they may mitigate the hiway noise and from what I saw most but not all rooms had a nice view; this will also be a cheaper option than the top floor.

Room Tip: Consider taking one of the lower floor rooms. They may be quieter - except for overhead thumpers as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filftwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel such as our complementary breakfast and amazing ocean views. We also appreciate your tips about the room type as pertaining to specific noise levels. We will be sure to advise noise-sensitive guests about this. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Pismo Beach!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is the place to stay if you're in Pismo. but i was disappointed when i called the hotel from the hotel room with my cell phone and told the desk person that i can't called them from the room. she told me that i was the second person that complain about it. but didn't say anything about it but asked me what can she she help me with. still it's a nice place breakfast person was nice and helpful. Housekeeping was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to express my sincere apologies for the problem you experienced with your telephone, I have notified our maintenance team of this issue to ensure it is prevented in the future. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and are very pleased to hear you found our breakfast and housekeeping staff to be pleasant and helpful. Our goal at Shelter Cove is to ensure each and every guest has an pleasant experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you and exceed your expectations.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Driving from San Francisco to LA Pismo Beach is a perfect place to take a breather and stay for the night.
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove really surprised us with a fantastic location, good rooms and nice service.
We actually wished we could have stayed a day more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves during your visit and found our service to be pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope you are able to stay an extra day during your next visit.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing