We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel overlooking the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel overlooking the ocean”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Nice small hotel with great ocean views and access to cliffs and rocky beach. Good sized updated rooms with small balconies to watch the great sunsets. Modest continental breakfast in small breakfast room. Walk down to Ventana Grill for dinner or cocktails.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitdaroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and the beautiful views from our property. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit the Pismo Beach area.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    374
    87
    31
    22
See reviews for
391
701
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Tried the Shore Cliffs Best Western Plus first, no movement on prices that were significantly higher than this hotel and it does not have its own beach. If you are interested in value, sunsets and views, can't think why you would choose t'other. The staff here were hugely welcoming and helpful, the room on the ground floor was absolutely comfortable, slight oddity with regard the rickety security of the back door which overlooks the footpath. There are a number of stunning options with regard photographic foregrounds for the sunset, the walk to the hotel beach is manageable by all but the infirm, Pismo Beach is a very short drive away with all the options you could need for restaurants, self-catering etc. Fantastic location. Breakfast is basic, ie basically a bagel, toast and/or hard-boiled egg. But hey, would stay here again like a shot.

Room Tip: Anything with a sea view, which may be all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dellaph_Kite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay. We are so please to hear that you found our hotel and services to be accommodating and comfortable. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful sunsets and local shops during your visit. We look forward to having the chance to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the Pismo Beach area

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were very happy to find an ocean front hotel in Pismo that allowed us to bring our dog. We honeymooned in Pismo and visit MANY times a year. Not sure about the "dog friendly" rooms being on the ground floor -- any movement above our heads was reason for Bigi to bark. However, other than that, we truly enjoyed our stay and plan to be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you chose to spend you 15th Anniversary with us and that you were able to bring Bigi along too! We do have several upper level pet friendly options available; please feel free to make this request when booking your next stay with us. We wish you a belated happy anniversary and look forward to seeing you and Bigi again very soon.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a great little hotel in Pismo Beach. Don't confuse it with the other Best Western 1/4 mile south. This one is superior and has a much friendlier price tag. Excellent service, comfortable ocean view rooms and very close to great restaurants. Rooms have a fridge and microwave, too.
There is a private beach if you're up to the stairs. Bottom line: you won't beat this place for the price anywhere in Pismo Beach.

Room Tip: We had a lower level ocean view king and it was great. Upper level means ground floor (parking lot l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogusmalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
I want to personally thank you for taking a moment to share the details of your recent stay. I am thrilled that you were able to take in the beautiful ocean views from your room and found our proximity to the local restaurants to be accommodating. It sounds like you truly enjoyed yourselves during your visit and it was a pleasure to read that you also found our customer service to be excellent. We hope that we will be seeing you again very soon!

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Not bad not great. An overall great value. Location is close to pismo beach. 3 min drive. Hotel has its own beach, but to rocky and steep for kids, but can be romantic in evening for adults. They offer a decent breakfast. All rooms seem to have a ocean view.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auctionguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
We sincerely appreciate your feedback of your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in the beauty of our private beach in the evening. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting the Pismo Beach area.
Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Great location. Wonderful service. Breakfast looked good but as a vegan, I couldn't say. Coffee was perfect! It's close enough to downtown pismo beach to enjoy food and night life, but far enough that you can enjoy a quiet night listening to the sounds of the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for you review, we sincerely appreciate your feedback of your experience with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

First impression: oh, it's next to the highway 101. But you definitely cannot here the highway! The view from rooms balcony is just breathtaking!
The service was very helpful and recommending places here in Pismo. The rooms are huge and very clean (must have been renovated quite recently).
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iWenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
I would like to personally thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful during your visit. I was also very happy to read that you enjoyed the lovely views from our property. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the Pismo Beach area.

Respectfully,

Kalie Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing