We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at the Cove
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shell Beach Inn(Shell Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn by the Sea(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kon Tiki Inn(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentina Suites(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,598 results
Traveller rating
1,011
421
105
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
421
105
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe upper levelocean viewsea ottersgreat viewrooms are largeyogurtroad noisebreakfast roomthe cliffventana grillshort drivecentral coastupon checkfree breakfastbeautiful locationstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,226 - 1,231 of 1,598 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is my favorite hotel in Pismo Beach. I've stayed at fancier, more expensive hotels in the area, but none of them can beat the location or the view. As an added bonus, the hotel sits above a hidden cove that has a cave-like rock at its entrance that delightfully magnifies the thunder and reverberation of the waves when struck just right. It's also private and has nice tide pools at low tide. The cove is a bit dicey to get to and not recommended for those not steady on their feet. Every single room at the hotel has an amazing ocean view, which is more than I can say for some of the pricey places. Who needs frills when you have a porch with a view and the lullaby of the surf.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have a slightly better view and nice high vaulted ceilings. If you're going for a restful, quiet get-away, I would also recommend making sure that you get one of the rooms that is not directly overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhKellyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

OhKellyTravels, thank you for taking the time to write your review and letting us know about your stay. We are so thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the private cove just below the hotel. We offer many amenities here at the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge, but the views from each of our rooms is one of the most breathtaking in the area. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have stayed in PIsmo for many years and have stayed in many of the hotels along the beach. For the price this hotel can't be beat, newly renovated, rooms all have ocean views, clean and upstair rooms have really high ceilings. Microwave and mini fridge were nice too. Simple breakfast, muffins, pancakes, fruit, etc. Nice secluded beach area at the end of a trail from the hotel. Really peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the newly renovated hotel along with all of the amenities that we offer. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed the beautiful and tranquil views from our property. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Excellent hotel with great views of the ocean from the balcony. Staff was friendly. If you're looking for a nice quiet place to stay with a great view, this is the place. No beach for swimming at the Hotel but it is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear James Z.,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the property and were met by our friendly staff. We do offer a private cove just behind the hotel for our guests use, please feel free to ask about this during your next visit. We hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Shelter Cove in the near future.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Here for one night, and won't return. Views are incredible, but next to pool and its 2am and gates have been slamming all night. Bed is horribly uncomfortable. Far too expensive for no sleep, regardless of view!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleeplessinpismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us. We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not get a good night’s sleep. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We took a trip up the west coast of California and Pismo beach was one of our stops. We found this hotel through hotels.com on special and booked it for one night. It was our cheapest hotel on our trip, but it turned out to be the best one!!

There's not much nearby so you'll want a car to drive into town to get lunch/dinner but they have a pretty standard breakfast with toast, bagels, muffins, pancakes, juice, coffee... pretty standard, but good.

Make sure you ask for a good ocean view, some of the lower level rooms are on the pool (which was great for a family who was there who seemed to live in the pool), but we had a great view from the second floor (only two levels) over the cliffs and out to the ocean. It was likely one of the most beautiful views of our trip!! And there were dolphins swimming out front when we woke up the next morning!

Staff was friendly and wifi worked well. Pool and hot tub looked west. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Front Office Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room on the upper level and that you were able to see so much of our local marine life. At the Best Western Shelter Cove Lodge, we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and are extremely pleased to hear that we did so with you. Thank you again for the glowing review, we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to California.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews