We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
La Quinta, United States
1 review
“Seaside Stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel gives you an incredible view of the pacific and coastline. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Be sure to bring your binoculars to view the sea otters and other wildlife. There are many local restaurants and bars to enjoy the nightlife. A stroll on the pier is also great along with the seaside shops for picking up memorabilia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Floyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Floyd M.,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel and all that we offer at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your entire stay and our proximity to many other attractions in Pismo Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    386
    93
    32
    24
See reviews for
419
744
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

When we booked this room at a discounted two night stay little did we know that we also gave up a descent room. We were given an inferior room because we did not pay full price. This was not the way we wanted to start or Valentine getaway. That information should be given up front. very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bernadina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you Bernadina R. for writing about your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the location of your room during your recent stay and that you felt there was a correlation to the discounted rate in which you booked. As you observed, our hotel offers multiple levels and view types all of which offer an ocean view. We are always pleased to accept any specific room requests or location requests upon booking and do our very best to fulfill each request. We hope to have another opportunity to invite you back and ensure that you receive a room more specific to what you were anticipating. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel was located on the cliff over looking the ocean, the view was excelent. The grounds and rooms were very clean and the decor was nice. The pool and spa are located so you can look out on the ocean. The pool and was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you Jeffery P. for the review of your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you were able to take in our amazing views and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the property during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz,Ca, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Wonderful room and Ocean view. The breakfast was very good with an excellent variety of food choices.This Lodge is close to beaches, parks and restaurants. I went ocean fishing near the Lodge from the cliffs. I highly recommend staying at the Shelter Cove Lodge. Great staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Richard M – Thank you for spending your vacation with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed the room location and the wonderful ocean views that our property offers. We hope to see you again when you return to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The rooms have a terrific view to the ocean and are clean and comfortable. You can listen the waves breaking against the cliff at night. Just perfect to relax. A great spot to stop when travelling in Highway 1 and rest for one day or night. Nice pool and spa! Continental breakfast with pancakes was a plus!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear fabianslopes,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and the glowing review that you gave the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so glad we could provide you with a nice getaway and you were able to relax while listening to the breaking waves. We look forward to seeing you again if your travels return you to California.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

And most of that is location. It is right on the ocean with every room having at least a partial view of the ocean. It is close to a small beach, but involves many stairs to get to, so a better suggestion is to drive closer to the pier for easier beach access.

The rooms here are rather large and spacious, complete with fridge and microwave. Every room has a balcony or porch with chairs for guests to enjoy as well as random benches set across the property with stunning views for relaxation. We unfortunately had a room that was right in front of the pool, so our view was not as breathtaking as we had hoped, but that didn't distract from our trip at all. Beds were just ok on the comfort scale. Could really go one level softer and let people sleep a bit better. They were softer then say, the ground. But not by much.

Breakfast is served every morning with the usual muffins, cereals, and even pancakes.

If you are looking for a nice middle of the road place to stay in the central California coast area, you could do a lot worse. I would stay there again in a heartbeat even with the hard bed. Location really trumps a lot of that for us.

Room Tip: If you can pay extra for the unobstructed view of the ocean, I would do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btown007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you Btown007 for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We appreciate the detailed review of our property and all that we have to offer our guests. We are glad to hear that you will stay with us again and look forward to a visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

No question, we would stay here again! Nicest, most comfortable and beautiful beach area we could imagine. We had our dog and they provided a nice doggie basket of blanket and goodies....great breakfast room with many choices. Always will to help with a smile!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lapazlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear lapazlovers,

Thank you for taking the time to enlighten future guests about the wonderful experience that you had during your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy that everyone including your four legged family member enjoyed the pet friendly room amenities along with the beach access. We look forward to saying hello when your travels return you to California.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing