We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, better then expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed at the Shelter Cove, Best Western plus for one night whilst touring California, would happily have stayed longer. Good quiet location, close to the main highway and only a few minutes drive from the centre of Pismo Beach. Great views over the Pacific ocean from your room. Plenty of free parking.

ROOMS
We stayed in room 517, which is on the lower floor, our friend stayed in room 602, which is on the upper floor. Both rooms have great views over the Pacific ocean, were quiet and well positioned. Our room had two queen size beds, which were very comfortable. The room was very clean, spacious with plenty of storage space for clothes and luggage. There was a desk / table, chairs, tv, fridge, microwave and coffee/tea makings. A nice balcony to savour the excellent views. There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms, which had a strong signal. The bathroom very clean, bath and shower available, and free toiletries. The only odd bit was the fact there is a bottle of water left by the hotel in your room, but there is a note with it stating it costs 3 dollars if you use it! Surely this should be free.

RECEPTION
Good swift service on check in and out.

BREAKFAST
Included in the price, there was plenty of choice. Tea, coffee, juices, milk, porridge (oatmeal), cereals, bread/toast, bagels, cakes, muffins, eggs, fruit and more. Breakfast room was clean and tidy, good service.

OVERALL
Great value, good location, good service, well worth visiting. Good stop over place whilst touring California.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

TonyPaz – Thank you for the detailed review of your stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We appreciate you noting so many wonderful details of your stay. It sounds like you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your entire time with us, including the amenities that we offer and the surrounding town of Pismo Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to California!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I spent the night here for a romantic getaway. Exceeded our expectations. Very clean facility and rooms. Beautiful view and nice beach. Helpful staff. Short drive to peer at Pismo Beach. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you Eric E for spending your romantic getaway with the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We thank you for taking the time to complete a review about our property. We are happy to hear that we exceeded you and your wife’s expectations with the helpful staff and the cleanliness of our property.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Had such a wonderful experience at this hotel. The room I stayed in was upper level ocean view and the view was breath taking! The chairs provided are high enough so that you can enjoy your ocean view. Breakfast was good, I enjoyed the pancakes. There is a great trail to walk along and enjoy the views from every angle. It's a tradition to stay in Pismo every year and this is the hotel I'll be returning to. Absolutely serene and wonderful accommodations.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Anabelle_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Anabelle_Rose,

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge and for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you were able to explore our property and enjoyed the serene atmosphere that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again when your annual Pismo trip returns you.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very Nice clean room with good service and a very beautiful view ,Dog friendley for $20 bucks more, This was are first time are dog went with us on a family trip ,It was a good Experience, Excellent Pismo beach california location, Had a great time.We will stay at this Best western PLUS shelter cove Lodge again,With are dog.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you Tracy H for sharing your recent experience with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy that you were able to bring your four legged family member with you and that everyone enjoyed the service that we offered. We look forward to saying hello again when your travels return you to our area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views of the ocean from every room Friendly staff and a nice breakfast. My only recommendation would be to request a room not over the pool area since it did tend to be a bit noisy at night. My husband and I just celebrated our first anniversary at this hotel and I'm sure we will come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Cyndi D,

Thank you for spending your first year anniversary with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased that you encountered friendly staff and enjoyed our extended continental break. We hope to see you two again, maybe for your second year anniversary.

Sincerely
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Nice Hotel with nice rooms. If you wanna experience the full ocean view, take the upper Level. Heating/Cooling System very good. Flat Screen also very good. Internet Connection not good, also no Restaurants to Close. But we enjoyed our stay. Very Close to the ocean but for a sand beach you have to walk a Little. Pool was great with a hot tub and a normal one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you Mani T for spending your vacation with us and sharing your experience Trip Advisor. We agree that our upper level rooms do offer the best ocean views on the property. We are glad you were able to explore our property and the surrounding beach. We hope to welcome you back when your travels return you to California.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Husband and I had our two small dogs with us and this hotel has an entire wing set aside for guests with pets. We didn't hear any of the other pets but saw them when walking along their beautiful cliff walk

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 952stacyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you 952stacyb for your recent stay with us and the review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy that you, your husband and your two small family members enjoyed the pet area of the hotel. We hope to welcome all of you back to the Central Coast in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £103 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, The Inn at the Cove is the ideal destination for a retreat for real life. Escape your every day in our tranquil, oceanfront setting, and enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and unbeatable proximity to the Central Coast's famous wine country and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing