We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large rooms with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed here several times and the new updates and upgrades add to this already great property with great views. We stayed here last minute on a drive home and the check-in process was quick and friendly. The room was large, comfortable, quiet, and has great views of the ocean. We like the kitchenette area with the microwave, frig and coffee maker. It would have been nice to have a sink at this spot too which I think there was prior to the remodel. New rooms have everything new (our room did) including nice new counter top for the kitchenette and the large bathroom counter. New furniture including great chairs on the balcony that sit up high to see over the railing where it is totally relaxing to watch the birds, sea lions, otters and even a couple whales!
In the room there were even 2 suitcase stands to set your suitcase on that we thought was great; one for each person which we have not seen in any other hotel.
The breakfast room was also remodeled to be twice the size. We would have liked a little more variety but it was pretty standard for this type of hotel. We often travel with breakfast food so we just used the continental breakfast as a supplement to what we had.
The area in front of the property has a nice walking area that goes down toward the beach and along he bluff. Unfortunately, the landscape staff just toss the dead bushes and landscaping cutting over the rail which is an eyesore. They should be taken to the landfill. Also the area between the walkway and the bluff needs a little attention as several of the plants were dead and the area could have been cleaned up and had drought tolerant plants. Maybe that is the next project.
We really like this property - the rooms with relaxing views have always been a great get-a-way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove. We are so pleased you enjoyed our recent upgrades to both the guest rooms and the breakfast room. We thank you for your continued patronage to our location and look forward to your future visits.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great facility- watched whales spout from out balcony. Fabulous views and great wlaking trails for more scenery and ocean views. Near great dining and close to many wineries. Very relaxing get away and we will retrun soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank K9521VKmichaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so happy to hear you were able to view the whale migration and enjoy our ocean views from our property. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a wonderful time with my family and our dog in Pismo Beach and especially enjoyed our time at the Shelter Cove. It was very comfortable, spacious and had the best view ever! The room came with a basket of goodies for our dog and was big enough to fit two twin air mattresses for our kids. The pool was nice and the grounds were beautiful to walk around. We also enjoyed the breakfast that was available to us near the pool area. We would highly recommend this place if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank maryanns514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Maryanns514,

We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy that everyone, including your four legged family member enjoyed the room and hotel amenities we offer. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you and your entire family soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After several legs of business travel, I was able to take a few days just for me. Shelter Cove was a great place for me to recharge my batteries. Centrally located between Shell & Pismo beach. I was able to beach troll, watch sunsets from my deck and listen to the waves. Can't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Siobhan,

Tthank you for sharing your experience with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to recharge your batteries. We look forward to saying hello when you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed only one night at this hotel when we were travelling from SF to LA. It was a great option. We were not expecting much, but we were very impressed with the great service and huge apartments. There is a playground close by. We took our soon there to enjoy some time outside, we took beautiful pictures on the short walk from the hotel to the playground. There is no restaurant available at the hotel, but there are two restaurants very close to the hotel that you can order take out, one of them delivers to the hotel. If you are interested in shopping, the hotel is a 5 min drive from the Pismo Beach Premium Outlet. We would stay at this hotel again and I recomment it to everyone who asks me.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mariacarol29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor about the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that the entire family enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and the friendly staff service. Dinosaur Caves park is the perfect location for family photos and for the kids to run off some energy. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to your return stay in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in the twin hotel Shore Cliff before and this was a similar experience. Good rooms with a grand view on the ocean and pismo beach pier. Rooms are large, a bit dated design and bathroom but overall clean. There is a fridge and drinks and snacks can be bought at the reception.
Service at the reception desk was very kind and helpfull. Nice to see parking is free. Some restaurants are on walking or close driving distance.
There is very very small swimming pool. Ok for a 5 minute refreshing dive but not for swimming laps..

Room Tip: ask for a top room as for the bottom rooms people could have easier access from the street or pedest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieterderam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear dieterderam,

We would like to thank you for your review regarding your recent visit, we welcome any feedback from our guests so that we may always focus on offering the best possible experience for all guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge when you return to California.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Right on the cliffs and so romantic. Best stay! Staff excellent. Many excellent restaurants near by. All rooms are ocean view with balconies. You can't beat the scenery and the ambiance. It is a must stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 166MarilynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Marilyn B – Thank you for your sharing your recent experience with the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. I am so glad you found our property to be so romantic and that our service left such a wonderful impression on you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £132 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing