We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Dog Friendly, Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very happy with this find in Pismo Beach. Gorgeous views of the ocean and south along Pismo Beach. Balcony has chairs and a table and its easy to lose a few hours just watching the water. The hotel itself is neat and clean and nice. Friendly staff, clean grounds, rooms are nice (upper floor has high ceilings) and clean and spacious.

Big rooms makes bringing the dogs nice and easy, and the path along the water and down to a beautiful park on a bluff is just wonderful.

Room Tip: Upper floor (you can get a dog friendly upper room in the 800 building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsWithFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for providing us with such a pleasant review of your stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the gorgeous views from your room balcony and from our neatly maintained grounds. It is our goal to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and we are glad we could do so with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a lovely one-night getaway here. We had heard that the best views were from the top floor (parking lot level) and we were on the bottom. However, this wasn't a big deal. We still had a lovely view, though the view from the pool area and reception area were truly spectacular. The staff were very nice - we tried to check in early but the room wasn't ready yet, so they offered to call us when it was. We just sat by the pool and took it all in. Room was reasonably quiet and nicely decorated. My only gripe is that there were no king rooms available, and the double beds were full-sized, not queens. Other than that, all good.

Room Tip: Request the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear pezworld,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge, enjoying the views from your room and the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to saying hello when your travels return you to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is in a spectacular spot on CA coast and makes the most of the views. Each room has a veranda with high chairs to sit and contemplate the ocean. You can see whales, dolphins, birds. It is the high point of the stay. The pool area is also very nice with a shelter to buffer the frequent winds on the coast. Very clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Greetings Carolyn M,

Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the views of the local wildlife from your private room balcony, along with the amazing ocean views that our property offers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when you return to California.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

book an upstairs room in the 600 building and you will be amazed at your ocean view with seagulls and otters and even a whale last week!
the rooms have been recently renovated and are large, clean, and comfortable. they take great pride in their breakfast area which has an excellent variety of food and beverages.
you can not stay any closer to the ocean anywhere on the Central Coast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truefoodie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

truefoodie_9 – Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay in the 600 building and enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer. We are also happy to read that you had an opportunity to see some of our local wildlife. Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a spectacular ocean view, cool spring breezes through the french doors on the balcony, friendly and attentive staff, and all for a reasonable rate. We asked for and got a second level room, and a couple of wine glasses were produced by the desk clerk on request. We will go back. (It's dog-friendly, too.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Barbara P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the views from our property and that you found our team to be friendly and attentive. We look forward to your return to Pismo Beach and our hotel.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed here several times and the new updates and upgrades add to this already great property with great views. We stayed here last minute on a drive home and the check-in process was quick and friendly. The room was large, comfortable, quiet, and has great views of the ocean. We like the kitchenette area with the microwave, frig and coffee maker. It would have been nice to have a sink at this spot too which I think there was prior to the remodel. New rooms have everything new (our room did) including nice new counter top for the kitchenette and the large bathroom counter. New furniture including great chairs on the balcony that sit up high to see over the railing where it is totally relaxing to watch the birds, sea lions, otters and even a couple whales!
In the room there were even 2 suitcase stands to set your suitcase on that we thought was great; one for each person which we have not seen in any other hotel.
The breakfast room was also remodeled to be twice the size. We would have liked a little more variety but it was pretty standard for this type of hotel. We often travel with breakfast food so we just used the continental breakfast as a supplement to what we had.
The area in front of the property has a nice walking area that goes down toward the beach and along he bluff. Unfortunately, the landscape staff just toss the dead bushes and landscaping cutting over the rail which is an eyesore. They should be taken to the landfill. Also the area between the walkway and the bluff needs a little attention as several of the plants were dead and the area could have been cleaned up and had drought tolerant plants. Maybe that is the next project.
We really like this property - the rooms with relaxing views have always been a great get-a-way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove. We are so pleased you enjoyed our recent upgrades to both the guest rooms and the breakfast room. We thank you for your continued patronage to our location and look forward to your future visits.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great facility- watched whales spout from out balcony. Fabulous views and great wlaking trails for more scenery and ocean views. Near great dining and close to many wineries. Very relaxing get away and we will retrun soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank K9521VKmichaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are so happy to hear you were able to view the whale migration and enjoy our ocean views from our property. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £129 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, The Inn at the Cove is the ideal destination for a retreat for real life. Escape your every day in our tranquil, oceanfront setting, and enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and unbeatable proximity to the Central Coast's famous wine country and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing