We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, CA, United States
1 review
“Excellent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Was actually late when I started looking for hotels during memorial day weekend, everywhere I look I get no room, luckily I got only one night (initially I was planing to spend whole weekend) stay in this hotel my initial thought may be not so good hotel because I am getting room so late :( But to my surprise I like the location very near Pismo City and close to Highway, staff was very courteous, gave me best room near to pool and very good view. Room was very clean and my kids enjoyed pool area along with private beach. My Daughter was not very happy when we started our journey back :(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vineet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Vineet S. – It was our pleasure welcoming you and your kids to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. Thank you for the great comments about the staff service and the amenities that we offer here. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    360
    79
    26
    22
See reviews for
374
647
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

There for my nephew's wedding on the property. Incredible views, friendly staff. Large rooms, fridge and microwave were very useful. Excellent water pressure in the shower. Overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ruben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ruben O,

Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location during your nephew’s wedding and the friendliness of our staff. We hope you will stay with us again when your travels return you to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked two rooms for two nights at this hotel, one for us and another for a relative. Both rooms were upper rooms facing the pool and ocean. Very calming looking out at the ocean and pool, not to mention the sunset every evening. The rooms were larger than your normal hotel rooms with high ceilings. Very clean also. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel sits on a cliff over looking the ocean, no swimming beaches here. Shell Beach is just about a mile away north and Pismo Beach about a mile south. Plenty of restaurants either direction, but not walking friendly because of the highway.
Some highway noise but quieted down some at night, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mockee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you Mockee54 for the review about your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. It is wonderful to hear how much you and your relative enjoyed your time with us and were able to enjoy the wonderful sunsets that we offer from our property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowland heights, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

we wanted a quiet time and relax, kids had a great time, pool was comfortable, breakfast was just enough to feel you up until lunch time. All rooms look out to the great Pacific ocean. the weather was calming at this time of year. near many restaurants in area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge soon.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very happy with this find in Pismo Beach. Gorgeous views of the ocean and south along Pismo Beach. Balcony has chairs and a table and its easy to lose a few hours just watching the water. The hotel itself is neat and clean and nice. Friendly staff, clean grounds, rooms are nice (upper floor has high ceilings) and clean and spacious.

Big rooms makes bringing the dogs nice and easy, and the path along the water and down to a beautiful park on a bluff is just wonderful.

Room Tip: Upper floor (you can get a dog friendly upper room in the 800 building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWithFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for providing us with such a pleasant review of your stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the gorgeous views from your room balcony and from our neatly maintained grounds. It is our goal to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and we are glad we could do so with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a lovely one-night getaway here. We had heard that the best views were from the top floor (parking lot level) and we were on the bottom. However, this wasn't a big deal. We still had a lovely view, though the view from the pool area and reception area were truly spectacular. The staff were very nice - we tried to check in early but the room wasn't ready yet, so they offered to call us when it was. We just sat by the pool and took it all in. Room was reasonably quiet and nicely decorated. My only gripe is that there were no king rooms available, and the double beds were full-sized, not queens. Other than that, all good.

Room Tip: Request the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear pezworld,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge, enjoying the views from your room and the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to saying hello when your travels return you to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is in a spectacular spot on CA coast and makes the most of the views. Each room has a veranda with high chairs to sit and contemplate the ocean. You can see whales, dolphins, birds. It is the high point of the stay. The pool area is also very nice with a shelter to buffer the frequent winds on the coast. Very clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Greetings Carolyn M,

Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the views of the local wildlife from your private room balcony, along with the amazing ocean views that our property offers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when you return to California.

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing