We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale Watching included!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Whale Watching included!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at this hotel after driving down from San Fran, and it was great. Easy access off Highway 1 and easy to find (since there's basically one main road, and it's on it). We'd hired a car and there was ample parking for the hotel, we never struggled to find one close to our room.

The hotel had free Wifi, and it was fast everywhere around the hotel vicinity. Check in was trouble free, even at 8:00pm when we arrived. The rooms were huge (for two ppl) and the bathroom was clean and had everything we needed. All rooms had a view out to the ocean too, and small balconies. TV had the main channels, and there was some cool tea / coffee facilities that you don't normally see. Very happy with that.

The ocean views were great, and we spent a great deal of time just watching the wild life. We were there in June, and there was always whales to be seen. Some were quite close, while others you could only see the blowhole mist out at sea. If you get a chance to bring binoculars, do it. Other wild life included dolphins and sea otters, though the otters were rare. This hotel also has its own sheltered cove (hence the name) there were about 20-30 sea lions basking on a rock down in the cove. Ample bird life in the area too.

Limited to the shops in the immediate vicinity, but a great italian restaurant that did a mean pizza, and a bottle shop for the adults. The hotel included breakfast, which was mostly cereals and toasts, bagels, pastries and pancakes. It was continental, so no eggs or bacon etc., but it was fine to get us going. Small room for eating though, which is the only downside - felt a bit like a school cafeteria.

Pismo itself was quite close, and with the car it was easy to get around and always parking available, and only $1 per hour! Plenty of things to keep you busy in the town, especially with children.

The hotel seemed to be a pit stop for most travelling, probably not attracting patrons for more than 2 nights on average. Everyone was friendly though, and treated you like you lived there. The staff were helpful and always willing to give directions or advice of things to do. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great stop over for those traveling between SF - LA. It breaks up the drive nicely and is clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: They all face the water, but top floor (of two) was great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you Will L for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We have had a huge increase in our wildlife activity this year which included very active whales, dolphins and other sea life. We are happy that you were able to experience all of this along with the incredible views and close proximity to the downtown Pismo Beach area. We hope if you return to California that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    374
    87
    31
    22
See reviews for
391
702
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rooms are very nice and clean, all things needed were available. Pool was nice with glass walls to keep view but break wind. The view of the balconies with the classy chairs and table was very relaxing. The stay was great and I would stay here again. Staff was great.

Room Tip: Definitely upstairs ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Kelly B.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to find everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very peaceful rest stop for trip along 101. Great Views. Quite. Recommend as couples retreat, especially when traveling along hwy 101. Front Office Staff was VERY responsive for our needs. Beach is exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Ralph D.,

Thank you for you recent review of the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed a peaceful stay with us and the Front Desk staff was attentive to your needs. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a well maintained property with beautiful ocean views. My room was clean and had all the usual amenities like mini fridge, coffee maker and very nice soaps & shampoos. The upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the cliffs and ocean, although I suspect the lower room views are very nice as well. Fairly standard daily breakfast. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of nice paths to walk and enjoy the view and a small private beach area. My only thought for an improvement would be a towel bar in the bathroom. As a resident of Southern California, I'm very aware of our current drought and reusing a towel is not a problem, however there was no place to hang the towel to dry. There is a small robe hook on the back of the bathroom door, but unfortunately towels don't dry very well on hooks. Overall it was a nice property that's convienent to downtown Pismo Beach and San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallwithroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Tallwithroom – Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you were able to explore our property and the surrounding area. We thank you for your comments on how we can improve and we hope to see you again when your travels return you to the area.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location and view. An attractive deck looking over the ocean; wonderful to sit there with a glass of wine and relax.. A choice place for anyone who loves looking at the ocean. Very nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 109rubyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
109rubyd – Thank you for your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We do offer a great location with wonderful views and private balconies/patios and are happy that you enjoyed all of these amenities. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this place. Great location, the views are spectacular. The room was far larger than we expected, very comfortable and clean with everything we needed, great vaue. Wish we could have stayed for more than a night, would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Michelle B.,

Thank you for your recent stay with the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge and for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel and the beautiful views that we offer. Next time we hope you will be able to stay with us longer than just the one night and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We love BW Shelter Cove. The facility was beautiful as always and the staff is great! BW Shelter Cove is well located overlooking the cliffs of Pismo, but just a few miles from the center of the city. And very close to other sites such as Hearst Castle and Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Don B. – Thank you for the glowing review about your stay with the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased that you continue to stay with us and that we continue to exceed your expectations with our staff service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing