We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Quiet Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Banning, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

the Shelter Cove Lodge at Shell Beach is a nice, quiet hotel. the staff were all pleasant and the room was clean and well decorated. There are trails and steps down to the beach with beches along the way to stop and rest. There are plenty of areas to explore around the hotel, our favorite being Shell Beach to the north. There is another Best Western to the south and while it is nice, this one seems to be better decorated. I am not sure if the view is better or worse in other rooms, but ours was spectacular. We will come back again.

Room Tip: We had an upper unit, not sure the the good or bad is aout other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
rlakin – Thank you for sharing your recent stay with the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel location and the wide variety of trails and the private beach access that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pismo Beach in the near future!

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    370
    85
    29
    22
See reviews for
385
679
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Rooms were very clean, well equipped, comfortable and quiet. Staff were polite and helpful. Ocean views from each room are amazing. The hotel is not in the town of Pismo Beach but a few miles north in Shelter Cove. Short walk to the excellent Ventura restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Andy M.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased that your stay with us was comfortable, quiet and all of the staff left you with a great impression. We hope you will stop in and say hi when your travels return you to Pismo Beach.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were amazed by the ocean view at this property. It far exceeded our expectations. It was a full view of the ocean with towering cliffs and rocks. The grounds were landscaped to enjoy the view with walking paths and places to sit and soak it all in. All the rooms have an ocean view. The room was very comfortable. The included breakfast was only mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanton777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Kanton777 – Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. The staff would agree that the ocean views we offer from our property are amazing. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to California soon.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Every room has an ocean view, and not just any view. It was a spectacular view of the oceans and cliffs - breathtaking! The hotel grounds were also beautifully landscaped with paths and sitting areas to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank kanton777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear kanton777,

We appreciate you taking the time to sharing your recent stay with us. We thank you for all of the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pros:Pet friendly, beautiful ocean view, friendly staff, clean rooms. Cons: Pricey, below average beds, breakast area is small and crowded. This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel. We do love the fact that we can take our dogs but the price of the rooms on a holiday weekend are insane.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NailChickMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear NailChickMich,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We are pleased we could welcome you and your four legged family member and that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We thank you for your suggestions on how we can improve and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auburn, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

STAFF NOT VERY COPERATIVE. Best Western at Pismo Beach advised after check in they can't guaranteed your room or location in the hotel are as far as first floor or second floor. they can't or won't guaranteed a roll away bed. so if you need a A ROLL AWAY BED YOU WON'T GET IT HERE!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Stephanie B.,

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. After verifying the details of your reservation, it appears that you booked your reservation through our central reservations department and they placed the request for a rollaway bed without noting that it is against our policy to place a rollaway bed in this room type. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us and I want to assure you that all of your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate staff members. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
218 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Magnificent views, very pretty motel and grounds. But when I went to enter my room the electronic key did not work, so long hike back to the desk, long wait, long hike back to room. Also noisy pool with kids shouting "Marco Polo!" at 9 pm despite calling the front desk earlier. Breakfast very good. Front desk, not so good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterCoveGM, Assistant General Manager at The Inn at the Cove, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear travel963,

Thank you for sharing details of your recent experience with us at the Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Lodge. We apologize that your room keys did not work upon arriving to your room and that it required you to return to the front desk to retrieve a new set. This is not a common issue we experience and we offer our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. Our hotel prides itself on offering each and everyone one of our guests an enjoyable stay. One of the ways in which we do so is by asking that all of our guests sign our “Pleasant Stay policy” upon check in. This policy states the considerations that we would like all guests to have during their stay. Although our pool hours are 8am until 10pm, we do apologize that the noise level was disruptive during the later evening hours. We appreciate you bringing such information to our attention and thank you for taking the time to share with us. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to our area.

Sincerely,

Amber Smith
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Property: The Inn at the Cove
Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pismo Beach, The Inn at the Cove is an all oceanfront hotel offering stunning panoramic ocean views and a tranquil setting. Enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing