We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at the Cove
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shell Beach Inn(Shell Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn by the Sea(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kon Tiki Inn(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentina Suites(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,598 results
Traveller rating
1,011
421
105
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
421
105
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe upper levelocean viewsea ottersgreat viewrooms are largeyogurtroad noisebreakfast roomthe cliffventana grillshort drivecentral coastupon checkfree breakfastbeautiful locationstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,447 - 1,452 of 1,598 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This place really needs a makeover. It looks nice from the outside but the rooms are really outdated. We sat on the end of the bed and it almost flipped and the bedspread had seen better days. The bathroom was all white. If you are going to have an all white bathroom it better be pristine, which this one was not. I just had an overall sense of ickiness in this place. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadWarrior93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I'd seen this hotel numerous times from the freeway driving between LA and the Bay Area (it is situated halfway between the two) and was attracted by the ocean view from all rooms. Recently, feeling too tired to drive any further, we called in at the hotel around 9pm hoping that they might have a room available. The front desk clerk was very welcoming and polite and gave us a delightful, spacious room which was spotlessly clean and very well appointed with hospitality tray, microwave, refrigerator, complimentary high speed internet, Bath & Body Works toiletries, a very comfortable bed and a spectacular view. Despite the late hour, we sat outside on the balcony listening to the ocean sipping a glass of wine. A very pleasant way to end an exhausting day. Breakfast the following morning was definitely nothing to write home about -- the usual ho-hum pastries, bagels, toast and cereal. No yogurt or protein was on offer and a very limited selection of fresh fruit was available. Before leaving (there appeared to be no rush to vacate the room and we appreciated that) we took a walk down to the beach, which we had to ourselves; it was gorgeous. I would definitely stay at the Shelter Cove Lodge again. Perhaps they will have taken the hint and broadened the breakfast choices by then.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We have stayed here at least four times and it has been OK.
However, since they renovated the rooms last year (they did a nice job) the service has been abysmal. The last two stays they have given us terrible rooms (after we had booked the most expensive and well in advance) and argued with us when we asked to be moved. Ulitmately, they grudgingly moved us.
After our last stay they double charged us, and we had to work that out. Hope that doesn't happen again because their view of 'service' is terrible.
We drive through here regularly but will definitely find another place is Pismo for the next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pegnbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My husband and I and our infant son stayed in this hotel this past weekend. We were in Pismo Beach for a family event and searched online for a hotel for one night. We wanted something near the beach and the Shelter Cove fit our needs. We were able to secure a very good rate (before they booked up, call early) and our room looked right out onto the ocean. The rooms had recently been renovated, it appeared, and were clean and quite spacious. I think the hotel is older but has all the amenities you need. Our room had 2 double beds, a full bathroom, and then an extra counter space area with a sink which is super handy. It also had a microwave and fridge. They brought us a pack n play style crib for our son which worked out great. We tried to use the hottub but unfortunately it was not working and the water was only warm, not hot. We informed the front desk manager and he said the repairman would be coming in the morning to fix it. They had a breakfast room with complimentary continental breakfast which was nice. Nothing fancy but good food like oatmeal, cereal, bagels, fruit, breakfast beverages, etc. It was a brief stay for us, but we would definitely stay here again. Good location in Pismo Beach too... near the freeway and restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucky94568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We stayed here for two nights for a business related trip. Check in was fast and pleasant. Our room (1 br king on the upper level) was bigger than I thought it would be. There was a full size closet, 2 sinks, fridge, and microwave. The ocean view from the room was quite impressive and the walking trails around the hotel were quite nice. The bed was comfortable and after a few initial snags, we got the wireless internet to work. The front desk was quite helpful with our requests (eg one night we needed a corkscrew). As previously mentioned, the breakfast is okay but nothing to write home about. The walls are a little on the thin side, but given that the hotel was not at full capacity we did not have any issues with noise from the other guests. The freeway noise is audible, but not deafening by any means. If on a budget, this is a great place to stay with an ocean view in the Pismo Beach area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Girlypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews