We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ron & Kathy loved the ocean view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We have stayed at many beautiful hotels along the California coast, but had not stayed in Pismo Beach. My husband made reservations online for Shelter Cove for one night as we were on our way to San Diego from Antioch, Ca. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and feel it deserves 5 stars! The staff was friendly, the room was large & perfectly clean, the ocean view (all 180 degrees) was wonderful, and our balcony just the right size to fit 2 lounge chairs and table on so we could sit, sip a cocktail, and watch the beautiful sunset. The beautifully manicured grounds were wonderful to explore and if you're daring and don't mind going down (AND back up) a lot of steps, don't miss out on roaming the lovely beach below. My wonderful husband booked this hotel, again, for our 34th anniversary in April!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rkgreenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2007

On our trip from L.A. to San Francisco this was the best place - lovely room, value for money, exceptional location! We loved it! One has to forget the breakfast, but that would be the usual complaint.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FriendsHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We were to stay at the other BW hotel in Pismo Beach but had problems and moved here. Staff was VERY friendly. Room was ok, the bathroom had water damage on the door from the shower and lack of a vent, the water from bathroom leaked into the room causing the floor to be wet by the bathroom in the hall. Was like this when we checked in. Bed was comfortable. There was nothing special about the hotel, except the staff was very nice. The free breakfast was in a cramped room, limited selection of cold foods, but it served the purpose. It was below the class of place that we usually stay, but there is a very limited selection of hotels in this city.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MissMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Got a great rate on an ocean-view room. The motel is in very good condition. Nice room with balcony, plus a refrigerator and microwave. Large bathroom. Path to the beach. Only thing that could use improvement was the breakfast --- pretty basic continental. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank rubymonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

My wife and I decided to enjoy a quick trip to Pismo Beach. This Best Western was easy to find on a frontage road adjacent to Highway 101. The room was nice, clean and quiet with just the sounds of the ocean waves to enjoy in the evening. What a great view of the Pacific Ocean from the balcony of our room. The beach below was a safe 5-10 minute walk just a few steps from the place. Staff was helpful in recommending local restaurants for dinner as well as suggestions on where to go and explore. Breakfast featured a nice selection of healthy choices to enjoy and the breakfast eating area was so clean and well kept. Kudos to Ana who was most helpful and a delight to chat with during a our continental breakfast! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CECALT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2006

What a nice experience!! Hotel is charming and rooms overlook the ocean, with spectacular views. Rooms were very roomy with individual balconies or patios. The grounds are exceptionally well-kept and there is access to the beach via a stairway (though not the easiest of climbs). A hearty continental breakfast is provided in a nice breakfast room looking out to the pool/ocean and includes hard-boiled eggs; the breakfast staff were exceptionally accomodating when we arrived with only 5 minutes before they were supposed to close up. Price through the AAA rate was the best along the beach. There is a great pizza place (Del's) with a nice atmosphere and good prices just up the road in Shell Beach. This was a great overnight stay and I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank InteleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2006

Based on reviews from this website and a friend that travels to the area several times a year on business we booked a upstairs room for one mid-week night during the month of September. The room was very clean and spacious complete with cathedral ceilings and fireplace. All rooms are ocean view and have a sliding door/balcony facing the ocean, but the upstairs rooms allowed us to leave the sliding door open during the night to hear the ocean waves. The extra charge for the upstairs room was well worth it for this reason alone. Noise was not an issue for us as I don't believe anyone was next to us. The rooms are grouped in blocks of 4 with 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs, so everyone has at least one quiet wall. The continental breakfast downstairs next to the pool area was nice with a few options, but the area was small and seating limited. The landscaping surrounding the area was well maintained, complete with a gazibo overlooking the ocean and the path leading down the beach. We will definately stay here again on our next trip to Pismo Beach

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Papalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Cove

Address: 2651 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2100 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shelter Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £103 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sweeping panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, The Inn at the Cove is the ideal destination for a retreat for real life. Escape your every day in our tranquil, oceanfront setting, and enjoy the hotel's beautiful grounds, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, newly remodeled guest rooms, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi, and unbeatable proximity to the Central Coast's famous wine country and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shelter Cove Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Shelter Cove Hotel
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing