We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just alright for 1 night...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just alright for 1 night...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I'm usually pretty easy going with my reviews and give fairly high marks, but this hotel barely made the grade. The grounds were nice and the pool looked OK, but we didn't really ge to enjoy either as we were only there for 1 night (passing through Pismo Beach from San Francisco to LA). And had it been more than 1 night, I may have been searching for somewhere else to stay.

The room was adequate and the bathroom below average with a decent amount of mould on the walls / shower. I know it's humid being near the ocean, but we stayed at 5 other hotels near or right on the water on this same 2 week trip and none were close to as dirty as the Best Western Shore Cliff. I think they should consider re-naming this one to the "Just OK" Western......

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff-from-hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    567
    142
    60
    37
See reviews for
529
801
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel overlooks Pismo Beach and the Pacific Ocean. The view from our second floor king ocean front pierside room was spectacular. The cost of the room was US$187. The room was spacious with quality fittings. Planning and researching our accommodation through Trip advisor, we found that Best Western/Best Western Plus hotels lived up to their descriptions and provided the best quality and value for money right through California, Nevada and Arizona. The hotel is quite a walk, maybe 20 minutes, from the Pismo Beach esplanade where you will find eateries to suit most budgets. There is a quality restaurant next door to the hotel and a number of hotels with good resaurants and excellent meals within a 10 minute stroll. We only stayed one night on a drive down the coast road from San Fransisco to LA but Shore Cliff Lodge hotel would also serve as a nice place to stay and relax for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We loved the place, the sound of the sea, the birds, the cliff. The rooms are good and have an amazing view of the sea and the sunset. Breakfast is included and good, but it's difficult to get a table to eat it and the waitresses are quite rude. From the hotel it's very easy to get to get to pismo beach, San luis Obispo, Avila Beach. We enjoyed very much staying here and would come back tomorrow if we could. We do reccomend this place

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrioverthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We broke our journey from S.F to L.A. here and were very disappointed. Although the rooms are clean and basic the restaurant facilities were poor. The breakfast was just basic and we had a fair walk from our rooms to the restaurant. Thank goodness it was not raining. A lovely spot to stop but the hotel did not live up to expectation.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TiggyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

My bf and I decided to take a spontaneous drive to the coast from the bay area. Once again, we four ourselves here with an ocean view room. Upon arrival, we dis not have a reservation and it was too early to check in. We were told they would call us as soon as the room became available. 4 hours later, the call had not arrived, sovi made contact. Apparently our room had been available for several hours and they forgot to notify us. Anyhow, the room and it's beautiful view made up for the poor service. The waves crashing, the sun setting, the seagulls landing on our balcony....NEED I SAY MORE? It was gorgeous. We planned on staying only one night and ended up booking a second night we were soooo relaxed. We slept with our sliding glass door and curtains open to feel the breeze. But it should be noted, we were staring out and noticed a young couple having sex in the pool and on the patio chairs both nights around 2 am. We were entertained to say the least. Lol! They were quite noisy...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiteNOTSObrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

if you pay for the ocean front rooms be sure to ask for the second level. our first level oceanfront room was blocked by shrubs while you sit in the chairs on the patio. you have to stand up to see over the shrubs. but the biggest complaint was the musty smell of the room...we understand that hotel rooms on the ocean do get that smell, but this was really bad...they need to invest in those room spray scent machines that a lot of hotels use. oh and expect a nice walk into Pismo Beach town...not as close as thought to be. overall...we were there for a wedding and it was a happy occasion.

Room Tip: oceanfront rooms-ask for second level for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bert424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
351 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nites - 2 were for business and one was for pleasure. We had an ocean/coast/pier view on the third floor.

The room was very clean and attractive - attention given to detail (lovely "fan folds" on the top tissue in the tissue box, ice bag, bathroom linens folded attracticely, etc - Ammenities were from Bath & Bodyworks.

We so enjoyed the view from our room - and having our door open all day and night! It was wonderful to not only see the waves, watch the surfers and see the coastline and pier (and fog at times!) - but to hear the waves also. It was wonderful to have chairs on our deck to "just sit" - something we rarely have the priviledge of doing. Also, we asked for extra tea bags at the lobby and they graciously supplied those.

One draw back - was that with our door open, "neighbors" had a midnight meal - either near their open door or on their deck. That was disruptive and not a problem of the hotel, but . . rather the guest - but . . it was enough noise (talking, crumpling of foil and trash, etc) to wake us up. Also, someone was smoking on their deck several times during our stay and that smoke came into our non-smoking room - annoying (and allergy irriatating).

The contential bfst was "OK" - waffles, oranges/apples, cold cereals, toast, llimted pastries, and tea and coffee. We were disappointed that only the bar area was open for eating - not the dining room. There were lots of people and the bar area was very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveGetAways70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Ebookers so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing