We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room and Crashing Waves”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

There's nothing like lying in bed and listening to the waves pounding into the rocks below! Our room was great... large, clean and big beds and balcony.. I reserved an ocean front, but as others mention, be careful as you could be stuck in a corner with no view.... which would be a real shame as the beauty of this place is it's location.

The included breakfast was... uh.. adequate. Easy to fill up on eggs, cereal and sweet things... not much in the way of fruit or healthy options though.

About a 10-15 minute walk into town... all in all... highly recommended!

Thank TravelinMan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Plus Shore Cills Lodge. I asked for a room with a "partial" ocean view and was expecting a tiny view that would have to strain to see. Was I wrong! The hotel was right on top of the cliffs at the beach and the room had a fantastic view of the beach looking north. As far as I could figure, the only thing "partial" about it was that you could not also see the beach to the south.

The service was great, the location in Pismo Beach was great and the room was excellent. My only complaints would be that there was not free Internet and the free breakfast (served at a restaurant next door) left something to be desired as there was little choice and it was not well organized (we didn't bother with it the second morning). But otherwise, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gino4634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

stayed as 2 families here. the rooms are big and I believe are to be redone soon but I thought the deco was fine.
The views are good , swimming pool clean and breakfast included in the restaurant next door.
Breakfast was a little busy and not particularly well organised but for the price and quality of this hotel we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 27th anniversary weekend. The property upon arrival looks very much like a Best Western Motel. However, the minute you walk in the registration lobby, you are taken by the floor to second floor ceiling windows with a panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. The lobby is decorated with lodge-type furnishings,comfortable chairs and couches, flat screen TV, and a desk with a computer with open access to check email and print boarding passes. Free WIFI is available, although we did not bring our computers. The desk staff was friendly and helpful and the cookies upon check it were delicious!
The room we had was a third floor pier view king and it was newly remodeled with granite bath counters and new fixtures and furnishings. The Bath and Body Works toiletries were my favorite! It had a kitchenette with fridge and microwave and small sink. We brought back wine, fruit, and cheese from our day excursion and had our own aperitivo on our balcony. Bellissimo! They are going to be remodelling the ocean view rooms this October. Our room had an old style TV/hutch, but the newly remodelled rooms are supposed to be getting the flat screens.
Continental breakfast is served at the restaurant next door for hotel guests. All carbs, except for hard boiled eggs. The coffee was fabulous(Seattle's Best) or Twinnings Tea and they even provided papercups with lids so you could take it to go. The restaurant is on the cliff with 180 degree views from the windows.
The access to the beach below is accessible only by the neighboring properties, but this was okay with us and it made this property feel exclusive. A short walk through the other hotel properties on the ocean front side led to a staircase to the beach below.
This property is a photographers dream! We watched several brides and grooms taking photos on the beach below, very sweet! Also, professional photographers taking family portraits. The property has two gazebos that provide fabulous views off the cliffs. The wildlife is everywhere. There were tons of pelicans, seagulls, squirrels, rabbits, and other birds I had never seen before. The only drawback to that was the tons of bird doo everywhere. Be careful not to park under a tree!
Although this was a romantic weekend spent going to winery's and dining, this would be a great place to bring the kids. The local area is full of activities for families as well. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgalLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for one night during highway one trip. Excellent views. Pool facilities seemed fine - didn't use it as weather wasn't great. Customer service at desk was good. We had a ground floor room, prefer it higher for better views, 2 large double beds that weren't needed, shower was bit weak. Clean enough. Breakfast - walk 2 minutes to next door restaurant. Breakfast items were fine though more seating needed to be open for number of guests - staff seemed reluctant to do this

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

First time visit to Pismo, great place to stay. My daughters and I greatly enjoyed our visit. It was only for one night, loved the ammenities of this place.

Room Tip: Ocean view with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Araceli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel Has defenetly a nice view on the pacific ocean, the rooms are good. Unfortunately, the breakfast is really awful. The food quality is ok but the choice is really poor, no bacon, no scrambled eggs,...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £108 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop cliffs above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, is a beautiful, newly renovated oceanfront hotel in the heart of Pismo Beach. Each guest room boats a private balcony or patio, offering sweeping views of the Central Coast landscape. During your stay, enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and free parking at our premier Pismo Beach location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing