We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room with nice view”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice room with nice view”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

nice room with nice view of ocean and pool, weather was a bit grey. be prepared for major renovations starting in october 2011. had a nice meal at ventana grill (right next door), continental breakfast is pretty generic, for the price wish it was a bit more. if you want to walk on the beach, don't stay here. no beach access. the hotel sits up on a cliff overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nascardonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    600
    150
    61
    39
See reviews for
573
873
51
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stopped here for one night en route from Big Sur to Los Angeles.

Our room was very tired, with a very old, loud and ultimately rubbish air conditioning unit that didn't cool the room at all. You couldn't have the window open due to the noise coming from outside. It was clean but that was about all it had going for it. The pool looked OK but we didn't get to use it.

Breakfast was a joke. It was in the restaurant next door - most of the tables are closed off so you have to squash in the bar or eat outside. First though, you have to negotiate the rugby scrum to get to the mediocre coffee/pastries/DIY waffles. We gave up due to lack of tables, vast number of people and queue, and went elsewhere.

For the amount of money we paid, I would have expected much more. We certainly won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stopped in Pismo Beach to break the journey from Santa Barbara to Carmel. It was Labour Day and the town was packed. It felt a little past its best and isn't somewhere we'd return to. The weather was chilly and grey so to be fair, that didn't help. The hotel itself looks tired from the outside, like a very big and dated motel but the rooms were a surprise - large, comfortable, very clean and modern. The in-room coffee maker made great coffee! The views are also fantastic, sea and pool. If you found yourself in the area, you could definitely do worse then stop here for a night. We didn't avail of any of the amenities and the hotel is probably geared more towards families on vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Missie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Everything is clean and well decorated. The ocean and pool views are gorgeous. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I decided to head to the Central Coast for the Labor Day weekend with our 4-month old son, and my Mother-in-Law. In his usual fashion, my husband wanted to wait till the last minute to see if we could get a deal on a room. I wanted to see Hearst Castle so we looked for hotels in that area.

As I suspected, everything was either booked or over priced. We finally decided to bite the bullet, pay a bit more than usual and stay one night at this hotel. Once there, we KNEW we needed to stay an additional night! This hotel lives up to it's "SHORE CLIFF LODGE" name. It's literally right on the edge and makes for a beautiful view.

Our room was on the first floor, overlooked the pool, and had a nice view of the beach! It had double beds, a mini fridge, sink, and microwave. I found it to be very clean. They have a continental breakfast at Ventana but we skipped it because we decided to get an early start to Hearst Castle. We did, however, have dinner there and found it to be okay.

We plan to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamspears2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

There's nothing like lying in bed and listening to the waves pounding into the rocks below! Our room was great... large, clean and big beds and balcony.. I reserved an ocean front, but as others mention, be careful as you could be stuck in a corner with no view.... which would be a real shame as the beauty of this place is it's location.

The included breakfast was... uh.. adequate. Easy to fill up on eggs, cereal and sweet things... not much in the way of fruit or healthy options though.

About a 10-15 minute walk into town... all in all... highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank TravelinMan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Plus Shore Cills Lodge. I asked for a room with a "partial" ocean view and was expecting a tiny view that would have to strain to see. Was I wrong! The hotel was right on top of the cliffs at the beach and the room had a fantastic view of the beach looking north. As far as I could figure, the only thing "partial" about it was that you could not also see the beach to the south.

The service was great, the location in Pismo Beach was great and the room was excellent. My only complaints would be that there was not free Internet and the free breakfast (served at a restaurant next door) left something to be desired as there was little choice and it was not well organized (we didn't bother with it the second morning). But otherwise, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gino4634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing