We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,799)
Filter reviews
2,799 results
Traveller rating
1,687
782
196
89
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,687
782
196
89
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ventana grill great view restaurant next door ocean view crashing waves beautiful location breakfast room central coast yogurt nice room san francisco free breakfast pismo pier pool and hot tub road trip third floor pelicans
Filter
Updating list...
2,359 - 2,364 of 2,799 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September w/ my husband. Had a very nice King Ocean Front Room ($170/nt. AAArate). Unfortunately there is no beach access and you have to walk up to the frontage road and through 3 hotel properties to get to the stairs going down to the beach. Had I known this I would have chosen another hotel farther south. Because the hotel is located on a beautiful high cliff, there are many pelicans and sea gulls nesting (and pooping) nearby causing a very strong putrid smell (combo of uric acid and dead fish). The pool is quite nice (big enough to swim laps) and the hot tub is good, which was nice because we had two days of fog and no sun. The town is cute and quaint and you can watch beach volleyball and surfers from the pier.

The reception area is supposedly going to get a remodel and that's good because the carpet is old and grimy and everything looks 1980ish.
Ventana Grill next door has a good continental breakfast (included) and very nice menu for lunch/dinner, with an ocean view if the fog would only lift!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MabbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

nice room with nice view of ocean and pool, weather was a bit grey. be prepared for major renovations starting in october 2011. had a nice meal at ventana grill (right next door), continental breakfast is pretty generic, for the price wish it was a bit more. if you want to walk on the beach, don't stay here. no beach access. the hotel sits up on a cliff overlooking the ocean.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nascardonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stopped here for one night en route from Big Sur to Los Angeles.

Our room was very tired, with a very old, loud and ultimately rubbish air conditioning unit that didn't cool the room at all. You couldn't have the window open due to the noise coming from outside. It was clean but that was about all it had going for it. The pool looked OK but we didn't get to use it.

Breakfast was a joke. It was in the restaurant next door - most of the tables are closed off so you have to squash in the bar or eat outside. First though, you have to negotiate the rugby scrum to get to the mediocre coffee/pastries/DIY waffles. We gave up due to lack of tables, vast number of people and queue, and went elsewhere.

For the amount of money we paid, I would have expected much more. We certainly won't be staying there again.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stopped in Pismo Beach to break the journey from Santa Barbara to Carmel. It was Labour Day and the town was packed. It felt a little past its best and isn't somewhere we'd return to. The weather was chilly and grey so to be fair, that didn't help. The hotel itself looks tired from the outside, like a very big and dated motel but the rooms were a surprise - large, comfortable, very clean and modern. The in-room coffee maker made great coffee! The views are also fantastic, sea and pool. If you found yourself in the area, you could definitely do worse then stop here for a night. We didn't avail of any of the amenities and the hotel is probably geared more towards families on vacation.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Missie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Everything is clean and well decorated. The ocean and pool views are gorgeous. Great value.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews