We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I spent the night there earlier this week on our trip up the coast. The ocean view on the cliffs above Pismo Beach is second to none. All rooms have an ocean view with either a patio or a balcony perfect for reading a book or watching the sunset with a glass of wine, (our preference). The rooms were clean and appear to have been recently updated. They were still doing some remodeling building a breakfast room and gym. Currently they serve a free continental breakfast in the Ventana Grill. We enjoyed our stay so much we are already discussing a return trip in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    569
    143
    60
    38
See reviews for
530
802
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I snuck up to the central coast on 4/20 for a night and stopped in to this hotel without a reservation. Front staff was patient with us and let us see several rooms before booking. We ended up taking room 234 (full ocean king). Gorgeous remodel was just done on these rooms two months ago. Clean, nice toiletries, towels, and incredible ocean front view with full crashing wave sound. We took and afternoon nap only to be awoken by four loud people out on their deck below us puffing away at cigars which wafted straight up into our room. Front staff kindly changed our room and notified the other guests of the no-smoking policy. We were moved to another full ocean king that had an even better view. Spent the sunset out on the deck with a bottle of champagne. Does it get any better than this? Wonderful night's sleep to the sound of crashing waves.
We will be back. Thank you Best Western Shore Cliff Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building north of the pool are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ocean4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for three nights in April. Everything was so special. Total remodel in all rooms - very nicely done. Even though the remodeling was still in progress in parts of the hotel, we were not inconvenienced at all. Breakfast every day at the Ventana Grill was very good, with those amazing ocean views. The Ventana Grill for small bites and or dinner was perfection, and the service great. Can't wait to back.

Room Tip: All rooms have partial or full ocean views, but second floor or above is best for viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We used to stay here years ago, and returned recently for a mid-week, winter season, one-night stay. Not only did all those great memories come flooding back, but the whole place has been recently remodeled and upgraded.

The front desk staff was gracious enough to upgrade us to a "pier view room" for the price of a "pool view room". For a little over $100 we got a gorgeous ocean view, with the morning sun pouring in, and the pier in the distance.

We love the location of this hotel, because you can hear the crashing waves as you fall asleep. No beach access, but plenty of nice walking paths alongside the cliffs.

Included breakfast was great (not just high-carb, high-sugar offerings). We also ate dinner the night before at Ventana's, which is the adjoining restaurant, but were disappointed with both the service and food. It specializes in tequila, and since we were tea-totalling that night, didn't have the enhancement of the tequila buzz to offset the lesser-quality food and service. Oh well. We loved the hotel - what a value!

Room Tip: "Pier view" are actually ocean view, with eastern rising sun. "Ocean view" face...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RiverDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I came here for our anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from our 2nd floor room is just breathtaking. Our room is beautiful with new furnishings as they had just finished remodeling most of their rooms. During our stay we we're treated with a gorgeous sunset! They have a complimentary breakfast next door at the Ventana Restaurant. They only allow a certain portion of the Restaurant for hotel guests to eat breakfast in so it got a little bit crowded when we got there. The view at the Restaurant is beautiful as well. I definitely would return here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room higher up. They have rooms next to the pool but I would imagine that would be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvetotrvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
246 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The view can't be beat. Stayed here a handful of times in the past 10 years. Rooms in the 2012 visit have been updated. An easy 10-15 minute walk to downtown Pismo Beach and the pier. Ventana restaurant next door was convenient, with good food.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDucks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Wow, I was very impressed. I don't know when this hotel was originally built but what a beautiful location. Our room was recently remodeled and was very clean and modern. The plantation shutters over the sliding glass doors gave the room a very classy look. And where did you get those high top chairs for the patio? Loved those. And our room included a sunset view from the patio. The walk along the cliff to breakfast made up for the selection of breakfast items but it was enough to begin our next adventure.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor on the north end of the hotel. Ours was 236.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vjv2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Southall Travel so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing