We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Located right on the ocean. Room clean and fresh. Staff friendly. Ample parking. Very pleased with stay. Best Western's breakfast just needs some improving.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MyHumble0pinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for the very nice comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the accomodations at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    620
    152
    64
    37
See reviews for
613
919
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Van Nuys, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had visited this hotel years ago and moved to another on someone's recommendation. As you can see, we're back--and love it!

Room Tip: Seek the "pier" view, rather than face front, where you might "bake" in the rele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The entire hotel overlooks the ocean. We stayed in a north facing room (away from the pier) and the setting was unbelievable. We watched the waves roll in from our balcony while enjoying the truffles and sparkling cider as part of the romantic dinner package. Then we enjoyed dinner at Ventana Grill next door and watched the sunset while eating fancy food. Could hear the waves crashing softly from our room all night long. Comfortable bed, high quality room, good continental breakfast. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side - better view of the ocean. Also, second floor has a better view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEtravels1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Hi

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I Love this hotel. First of all...this is the best view for your money. Oceanfront is Great! But, the 2 bedroom suites are the best in Pismo! Especially, if you are traveling with another couple or family...PLENTY of SPACE! You hear the water crashing against the rocks so clearly! This is my favorite place for a short vacation. I travel from Sacramento to Pismo Beach at least 3 times a year to take advantage of the peace and quiet I always received here at this hotel! My husband and I enjoyed our stay so much, we were married at this location on May 18th. The staff done an excellent job with assisting my guest and with all the room accommondations! All my guest bragged on how much they loved their room and the views. The wedding was beautiful! The staff was AWESOME...especially Angelina! Thank you for making my day that much special!

Room Tip: Ventana Grill has good food and the waiters were outstanding. I had alot of difficulty planning my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnDHendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Had a last minute wedding to attend on Memorial weekend and this was the only hotel that would let us book just one night. The lobby itself is really nicely done. The front desk clerk was nice and gave us options of what floor to stay on. We chose the 3rd building 3rd floor room 315.

The entry way has a nice tile then it's carpeted. Nice furnishings and a small balcony with a gorgeous view! There's two chairs and a table to sit and have coffee at while admiring the view.
The bathroom toiletries are Bath and Body Works which the ladies will appreciated. Dual sinks and a big mirror behind the door which I loved! Not many hotels have these. The towels super soft they must have been brand new. Thanks BW!

There's a nice size pool and jacuzzi and it's nicely landscaped. My only problem with the pool was that early on Sunday morning it seemed there was a cartful of children in the pool crying and screaming. So if by the pool be prepared not to sleep in.

My only gripe about the hotel is that when other guests are leaving their rooms when the doors shut it is extremely loud!

We ate at the Ventana Grill next door and it's a beautiful restaraunt. Try the fish sandwich and pineapple margarita. We had a table right next to the window for a nice ocean view.

If in Pismo beach again I would pick the Shore Cliff Lodge again buy maybe stay in the 2nd building because of the pool noise in the morning.

Room Tip: On the weekends you might want to a room away from the pool area if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slotsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Hi

Thank you for your feedback! What a great Ambassador for our hotel. I love that you see the little "details". We are looking into the "slamming of the door" problem. I know this is a problem and can be very annoying especially when trying to sleep. I am glad that we were able to accomodate your one night stay and hope that you can return when you can stay longer.

Regards,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This must be the best Best Western ever. I booked by mistake, thinking it was closer to SFO...NOT. We were exhausted by the time we pulled in, at 1:30 am. The night clerk was kind, pleasant, welcoming, and didn't even look sleepy. After a long drive, I really appreciated how calm and helpful he was. It set the tone for a relaxing night's stay.

The beds were very comfortable. It was May, so leaving the balcony door open to listen to the sea didn't work out so well. After an hour I closed it and turned on the heating unit, which made a nice white noise and heated things up to a comfortable temperature before long at all.

In the morning we made coffee in the room and sat out on the balcony to look at the view. We had an oceanfront room, but I could see that the partial oceanview would have been nice also, for even less money. From them, you could see the pier, which was also a great view. Our balcony view was, from my research, definitely the nicest view on all of Route 1 for anywhere even near the price. Gorgeous view of waves slapping up against the cliff opposite.

Plus Continental breakfast at the adjoining fancy restaurant, too? The waiters were so kind. Wow. We felt like we'd lucked out.

While on the balcony that morning, we were visited by the nicest, calmest, and most unobtrusive seagull ever. He posed beautifully, and never came too near. When a unit closer to him opened the sliding door, he hopped back a couple of steps and posed like a statue. Then a baby wild bunny came out from under the bushes to wash her face. Adorable, and she stayed for pictures, then went under the end of the bush, stretched out, yawned, and slept. It was clear that these were wild animals and had never been fed or tempted. What a nice morning. We relaxed with Jonathan Livingston Seagull and the baby bunny and the ocean waves for an hour, then had breakfast and enjoyed the pier and the nearby dunes, the only place in California where you can drive on the beach. Fun!! Then we took Highway 1 to Hearst Castle and back to San Francisco. What a nice day trip!! And if you are having a wedding, this would be a dream location...there's a lovely garden that extends out onto the cliff. The photos would be incredibly gorgeous.

If you're trying to decide whether to drive another hour or 2, or whether to spend another $50 or so, go for this place. You won't regret it. Nowhere I saw on the whole coast had a better location. The staff was awesome. I wouldn't have minded staying another week...and for the price? I could have afforded to stay another couple of days, and was a bit sorry that I didn't.

Room Tip: The Oceanfront room was totally worth it, but if you're on a budget, the Partial Ocean View room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a nice time in Pismo and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The reason to stay at this reasonable motel is because of its fabulous location. Sitting right above the ocean you can't beat the view. There also is a convenient restaurant with pretty good food. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Only problem is Hwy 101/1 is right outside, but once inside the rooms you can't really hear the traffic. The pool area is very nice too and it's heated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your feed back regarding your recent stay. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed dining at Ventana Grill. They are conveniently located ,so it is nice that our guest are able to walk to and from and not have to contend with parking.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
824 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing